Buying on T-Mobile and unlocking, possible?

This is a discussion on Buying on T-Mobile and unlocking, possible? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Hey guys, is it possible to buy the Nexus One on T-Mobile ($179 version) and then unlocking it? Much like you can do with the ...

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Buying on T-Mobile and unlocking, possible?

  1. #1
    Junior Member nexusmad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4

    Buying on T-Mobile and unlocking, possible?

    Hey guys, is it possible to buy the Nexus One on T-Mobile ($179 version) and then unlocking it? Much like you can do with the iPhone?

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member soulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by nexusmad View Post
    Hey guys, is it possible to buy the Nexus One on T-Mobile ($179 version) and then unlocking it? Much like you can do with the iPhone?
    It already comes unlocked... regardless if you buy the subsidized price or unsubsidized.

  4. #3
    Junior Member nexusmad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by soulstar View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by nexusmad View Post
    Hey guys, is it possible to buy the Nexus One on T-Mobile ($179 version) and then unlocking it? Much like you can do with the iPhone?
    It already comes unlocked... regardless if you buy the subsidized price or unsubsidized.
    Hmm, so would it be compatible with a UK network SIM? What's the difference between unlocking and rooting?

  5. #4
    Senior Member dimmakherbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    475
    What exactly is unlocked?
    Cause isn't the phone going to come on a certain platform (t-mobile) and only be able to use that frequency because Google didn't build the N1 with all the frequency chips?
    Nexus One and luvin it
    Rooted 5/6/2010
    Enomther 2.10.1 Froyo Release

  6. #5
    Junior Member nexusmad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by dimmakherbs View Post
    What exactly is unlocked?
    Cause isn't the phone going to come on a certain platform (t-mobile) and only be able to use that frequency because Google didn't build the N1 with all the frequency chips?
    Right, so I'm able to use the $179 T-Mobile version with a UK network carrier right out of box?

  7. #6
    Senior Member soulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by nexusmad View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dimmakherbs View Post
    What exactly is unlocked?
    Cause isn't the phone going to come on a certain platform (t-mobile) and only be able to use that frequency because Google didn't build the N1 with all the frequency chips?
    Right, so I'm able to use the $179 T-Mobile version with a UK network carrier right out of box?
    If your UK carrier supports the bands that's listed in the specifications

    Nexus One Phone - Feature overview & Technical specifications

    ... then yes, it should work.

    The N1 is 'tmobile specific' only because the first one released supported the 3G frequencies that Tmobile USA uses. It does not mean it's locked to tmobile and tmobile only. People on AT&T used the "Tmobile" N1 since launch day on EDGE frequencies (until the recent AT&T-frequency-supported N1 came out recently)

    Bottom line, if your carrier uses one of the bands that either version of the current N1 uses, then yes, it will work.

  8. #7
    Junior Member nexusmad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4
    Ok, thanks for your help guys.

    So, what's stopping someone from purchasing the $179 version and not using or activating the contract? Is this possible?

  9. #8
    Senior Member soulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by nexusmad View Post
    Ok, thanks for your help guys.

    So, what's stopping someone from purchasing the $179 version and not using or activating the contract? Is this possible?
    If I remember correctly, the contract is activated upon purchasing.

  10. #9
    Senior Member number 9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    114
    Quote Originally Posted by nexusmad View Post
    Ok, thanks for your help guys.

    So, what's stopping someone from purchasing the $179 version and not using or activating the contract? Is this possible?
    No. Not possible. To get that price you have to sign a 2 year contract with T-Mobile. Unlocked means it doesn't need a specific carriers SIM card, or activation process to be usable. IPhones have sim cards but you can't even use them unless an at&t sim is inserted(unless they're jailbroken). The N1 will work on any network with usable bands.

    You would have to sign a contract with T-Mobile to get the 179 price, but there is nothing stopping You from inserting another sim card and using it on that network, as long as you're willing to pay extra for access to that network.

    The T-Mobile version will work on other GSM networks, it just can't access 3g .

    Basically unlocked means you own the device and can use it on any network you want as long as the frequencies are supported. 179 price gets you the same phone but you have to commit to a contract, but other than that there is absolutely no difference.

    Rooting is something completely different altogether, just search the forum and the internet, and you should have a good feel for what it is.

  11. #10
    Senior Member dimmakherbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    475
    Quote Originally Posted by soulstar View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by nexusmad View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dimmakherbs View Post
    What exactly is unlocked?
    Cause isn't the phone going to come on a certain platform (t-mobile) and only be able to use that frequency because Google didn't build the N1 with all the frequency chips?
    Right, so I'm able to use the $179 T-Mobile version with a UK network carrier right out of box?
    If your UK carrier supports the bands that's listed in the specifications

    Nexus One Phone - Feature overview & Technical specifications

    ... then yes, it should work.

    The N1 is 'tmobile specific' only because the first one released supported the 3G frequencies that Tmobile USA uses. It does not mean it's locked to tmobile and tmobile only. People on AT&T used the "Tmobile" N1 since launch day on EDGE frequencies (until the recent AT&T-frequency-supported N1 came out recently)

    Bottom line, if your carrier uses one of the bands that either version of the current N1 uses, then yes, it will work.

    Thats what I thought. Im not sure what others think an unlocked phone is, I hope they don't think it will just work on any network. Basically it should say uncontracted, no unlocked.
    Nexus One and luvin it
    Rooted 5/6/2010
    Enomther 2.10.1 Froyo Release

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Calendar: Accepting Invites
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 06:30 PM

Search tags for this page

is unlocking t mobile possible?

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum