1st gen iPhone to N1 Question

This is a discussion on 1st gen iPhone to N1 Question within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Originally Posted by ardynine Originally Posted by dixy2k Originally Posted by ardynine By cancelling the iphone plan, i get unlimited data AND unlimited text for ...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: 1st gen iPhone to N1 Question

  1. #11
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    Quote Originally Posted by ardynine View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dixy2k View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ardynine View Post
    By cancelling the iphone plan, i get unlimited data AND unlimited text for $30, saving me $20 for the separate texting plan.

    You probably got the family plan $10 for data and $20 for unlimited SMS.
    Hmm I don't think so. Here is a screen shot of my att account's feature settings.

    That's a weird plan. I wonder if that is 3G or EDGE.

  2. #12
    Senior Member ardynine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    156
    It's 3G. My phone is showing HSDPA and I can confirm my data speed isn't any slower than before.

  3. #13
    Super Moderator AndroidIsTheTruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanked
    10 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ardynine View Post
    It's 3G. My phone is showing HSDPA and I can confirm my data speed isn't any slower than before.
    I'm gonna try it today and see what happens. It's only a matter of time before AT&T getting hip to it and get stingy on the service.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator AndroidIsTheTruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanked
    10 times
    *update*

    So I had to give them my IMEI number to take off my old one for the Backflip. But I didn't tell I had a Nexus 1. I just told them it's not an AT&T phone. No problems changing and I am now back on the old $30 unlimited data/text plan.

    You can go here to change your IMEI number w/o even talking to anyone

    att.com/updatedevice

    I'm thinking you don't need the smartphone plan because AT&T don't have these IMEI numbers for N1 because it's not a subsidized phone. And because of that, they can't deny the change in service because their system doesn't recognize the N1 as being a smart phone.

    WOOHOO!

    Let's see how it runs for the next couple of days.

  5. #15
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    Why not use GV SMS instead of AT&T SMS?
    You can save $15 a month that way.

  6. #16
    Super Moderator AndroidIsTheTruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanked
    10 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dixy2k View Post
    Why not use GV SMS instead of AT&T SMS?
    You can save $15 a month that way.

    In this one case, personally for me I'd perfer AT&T. There's a ton of options Google is offering to the phone, but there's some thing I would perfer to have go through my phone company.

  7. #17
    Senior Member ardynine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    156
    Quote Originally Posted by AndroidIsTheTruth View Post
    *update*

    So I had to give them my IMEI number to take off my old one for the Backflip. But I didn't tell I had a Nexus 1. I just told them it's not an AT&T phone. No problems changing and I am now back on the old $30 unlimited data/text plan.

    You can go here to change your IMEI number w/o even talking to anyone

    att.com/updatedevice

    I'm thinking you don't need the smartphone plan because AT&T don't have these IMEI numbers for N1 because it's not a subsidized phone. And because of that, they can't deny the change in service because their system doesn't recognize the N1 as being a smart phone.

    WOOHOO!

    Let's see how it runs for the next couple of days.
    Congrats Let me know how it turns out. I had to give them my IMEI number also but it didn't look like the guy knew what kind of phone I had.
    So far nothing is wrong. Still unlimited data and text for $30.

  8. #18
    Super Moderator AndroidIsTheTruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanked
    10 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ardynine View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by AndroidIsTheTruth View Post
    *update*

    So I had to give them my IMEI number to take off my old one for the Backflip. But I didn't tell I had a Nexus 1. I just told them it's not an AT&T phone. No problems changing and I am now back on the old $30 unlimited data/text plan.

    You can go here to change your IMEI number w/o even talking to anyone

    att.com/updatedevice

    I'm thinking you don't need the smartphone plan because AT&T don't have these IMEI numbers for N1 because it's not a subsidized phone. And because of that, they can't deny the change in service because their system doesn't recognize the N1 as being a smart phone.

    WOOHOO!

    Let's see how it runs for the next couple of days.
    Congrats Let me know how it turns out. I had to give them my IMEI number also but it didn't look like the guy knew what kind of phone I had.
    So far nothing is wrong. Still unlimited data and text for $30.
    I dare not share this with the AT&T forum board. AT&T liable to set up some kind of lock out on N1. But I don't see how they could if they can't register the IMEI numbers in their system.

    oh well. I get to save a couple of bucks and not sacrifice service.

  9. #19
    Android Lurker Lionsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    I had the 15 dollar data plan, and one day I received a text message from A&TT it said that since I had a smartphone I was required to get the 30 dollar data plan. Somehow at&t network recognise it was a smartphone and added this plan automatically.

  10. #20
    Senior Member ardynine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    156
    Quote Originally Posted by lionsson View Post
    I had the 15 dollar data plan, and one day I received a text message from A&TT it said that since I had a smartphone I was required to get the 30 dollar data plan. Somehow at&t network recognise it was a smartphone and added this plan automatically.
    Well until then, I'm sticking to the plan I have right now

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum