2g? 3g?

This is a discussion on 2g? 3g? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; So ive never been into my phone before... i used it only to make/recieve calls... then i got the nexus one. im kinda in love. ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 2g? 3g?

  1. #1
    Member lisa.nexus.one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    48

    2g? 3g?

    So ive never been into my phone before... i used it only to make/recieve calls... then i got the nexus one. im kinda in love.

    but im also kind of a noob.

    I dont know the diff between 2g and 3g. I hear 3g is better but i dont know why, the reason i ask is that i live on the outskirts of my carriers coverage. my phone is constantly switching from 3 (my carrier) to another carrier and if i happen to be on the phone at the time it cuts me off. its making me crazy, i didn't notice it as much until i got THIS phone which is strange i spoze, but i don't think im imagining it.

    i found an app that will turn 3g off, i just installed it and im hoping it forces me onto the OTHER carriers network, sure my calls are a little more expensive but i mostly receive them anyway, and then at least everyone wont think im hanging up on them! I don't know if this is how it works, like i said i'm kind of new to this whole thing.

    but i am wondering, what limitations should i expect if i keep 3g off?

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb

    3G provides a lot faster data. For calls you'd never really notice the different (barring your switching problem).

    You don't need an app to disable 3G. It's in the standard settings of the Nexus One. Settings -> Wireless & Network -> Mobile Networks -> Use only 2G networks.

    3G networks also require the phone to use more power, so using 2G only will actually give you longer battery life. Downloading stuff is a lot slower though. So it's a definite trade-off.

  4. #3
    Member lisa.nexus.one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    You don't need an app to disable 3G. It's in the standard settings of the Nexus One. Settings -> Wireless & Network -> Mobile Networks -> Use only 2G networks.
    oh i never noticed. thanks for that.

    and i can totally live with slower speeds to stop all the dropped calls.

  5. #4
    Senior Member keyplyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    708
    You probably spend a significant amount of time near the edge of your carrier's coverage boundary and are roaming into another carrier's zone.

    However, switching to 2g will not stop dropped calls. Using 3g is a better experience all around. The N1 is much more than a mobile phone. If you're not using 3g then you are not utilizing the N1 to it fullest.

    You can force the N1 to stay on 3g by manually setting this preference:

    Go to phone > dial *#*#4636#*#* then go to Phone Info and choose WCMA Only.

    This will keep you on 3G and force a better speed. If by chance you roam out of 3G coverage & find you need EDGE (2g) you can easily switch back to WCMA Preferred.



  6. #5
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by keyplyr View Post
    You probably spend a significant amount of time near the edge of your carrier's coverage boundary and are roaming into another carrier's zone.

    However, switching to 2g will not stop dropped calls. Using 3g is a better experience all around. The N1 is much more than a mobile phone. If you're not using 3g then you are not utilizing the N1 to it fullest.

    You can force the N1 to stay on 3g by manually setting this preference:

    Go to phone > dial *#*#4636#*#* then go to Phone Info and choose WCMA Only.

    This will keep you on 3G and force a better speed. If by chance you roam out of 3G coverage & find you need EDGE (2g) you can easily switch back to WCMA Preferred.

    Doesn't this depend on which carrier you're using?

    You're T-Mobile.... we are not.

  7. #6
    Senior Member keyplyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    708
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by keyplyr View Post
    You probably spend a significant amount of time near the edge of your carrier's coverage boundary and are roaming into another carrier's zone.

    However, switching to 2g will not stop dropped calls. Using 3g is a better experience all around. The N1 is much more than a mobile phone. If you're not using 3g then you are not utilizing the N1 to it fullest.

    You can force the N1 to stay on 3g by manually setting this preference:

    Go to phone > dial *#*#4636#*#* then go to Phone Info and choose WCMA Only.

    This will keep you on 3G and force a better speed. If by chance you roam out of 3G coverage & find you need EDGE (2g) you can easily switch back to WCMA Preferred.

    Doesn't this depend on which carrier you're using?
    No it doesn't.



  8. #7
    Member NexusOneToo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by keyplyr View Post
    You probably spend a significant amount of time near the edge of your carrier's coverage boundary and are roaming into another carrier's zone.

    However, switching to 2g will not stop dropped calls. Using 3g is a better experience all around. The N1 is much more than a mobile phone. If you're not using 3g then you are not utilizing the N1 to it fullest.

    You can force the N1 to stay on 3g by manually setting this preference:

    Go to phone > dial *#*#4636#*#* then go to Phone Info and choose WCMA Only.

    This will keep you on 3G and force a better speed. If by chance you roam out of 3G coverage & find you need EDGE (2g) you can easily switch back to WCMA Preferred.

    how funny, I just typed the same thing in another thread for someone else... I'm running in WCDMA only (to avoid frequent EDGE connection) and its been consistently fast... I highly recommend (as long as you have good 3G coverage in your area).
    Ron Paul is correct.

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android 2g only
,
android 2g tablet nexus
,
android changing 3g to 2g
,
android detecting 2g or 3g network
,
how to know the phone network in 2g or 3g android
,
http www aisc oh setting 3g settingg
,
nexus 7 works on 2g/3g
,

nexus one 2g

,
nexus one 2g mobile data switch
,
nexus one 3g or 2g
,

nexus one 3g vs 2g

,
phone info app 2g setting
,
use 2g or 3g s4 which is better
,
what kind of date should i expect when straght talk ruduces from 3g to 2g?
,
which better setting 3g and 2g or just 3g
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum