Where's my 1GHz snapdragon at ?

This is a discussion on Where's my 1GHz snapdragon at ? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Saw this unusual looking info in the android system info app on my nexus one. Check out the processor (not mentioning snapdragon) and the frequency ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Where's my 1GHz snapdragon at ?

  1. #1
    Senior Member dd4005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390

    Where's my 1GHz snapdragon at ?

    Saw this unusual looking info in the android system info app on my nexus one.
    Check out the processor (not mentioning snapdragon) and the frequency at 652.8MHz


    o- Nexus One running CyanogenMod 6.0
    o- Samsung Galaxy Tab running stock Froyo (update: running Gingerbread and virtually useless)

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Super Moderator sliceburgslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanked
    14 times
    Interesting...the N1 Airplane Mode does not look like that. I call BS!
    [PHONE] Nexus 4

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [TABLET] Nexus 7

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

  4. #3
    Senior Member dd4005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Quote Originally Posted by SliceBurgSlim View Post
    Interesting...the N1 Airplane Mode does not look like that. I call BS!
    Mine does. No BS.
    o- Nexus One running CyanogenMod 6.0
    o- Samsung Galaxy Tab running stock Froyo (update: running Gingerbread and virtually useless)

  5. #4
    Super Moderator sliceburgslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanked
    14 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dd4005 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by SliceBurgSlim View Post
    Interesting...the N1 Airplane Mode does not look like that. I call BS!
    Mine does. No BS.
    Haha oops ive been Kspec'd up for a while now. What app is that you are using to see that?
    [PHONE] Nexus 4

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [TABLET] Nexus 7

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

  6. #5
    Member SENTY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    46
    i imagine it has speed stepping and jumps up and down in speeds depending on how much power is needed to save battery life.. all cpu's do that these days

  7. #6
    Senior Member dd4005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Quote Originally Posted by SliceBurgSlim View Post
    What app is that you are using to see that?
    It's called "Android System Info" by ElectricSheep. If you put those three words into a market search it comes up first and has 4.5 stars. It's a nice app, shows just about everything that's going on in your phone (memory and connections dashboard, apps running and mem used, system info, apps installed and logs).

    Oh wait, I just ran it again and went into the system info tab again and this time it says 844.8MHz. I guess it's estimating the speed based on how much CPU time it gets. So the more I have running in the background the lower the number would appear. Lame !!

    The ARMv7 still seems wrong though. Or did Qualcomm buy ARM at some point? Still a bit confused.

    Edit: Yaaay, this time I got 998.4MHz.
    o- Nexus One running CyanogenMod 6.0
    o- Samsung Galaxy Tab running stock Froyo (update: running Gingerbread and virtually useless)

  8. #7
    Senior Member iPhoneSlayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,386
    What's mahimahi under hardware. Sounds kinda fishy to me.
    Come here little sheep; I have a nice juicy apple for you!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    Nexus One: Locked and Rooted
    ROM: CM7

  9. #8
    Senior Member dd4005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Quote Originally Posted by SENTY View Post
    i imagine it has speed stepping and jumps up and down in speeds depending on how much power is needed to save battery life.. all cpu's do that these days
    I'd started my reply before you posted yours. That explains it, but it also brings up the question of SetCPU and why it would be needed. If the phone is sleeping then it should be able to reduce the speed anyway. There shouldn't be a need for a setcpu app.
    o- Nexus One running CyanogenMod 6.0
    o- Samsung Galaxy Tab running stock Froyo (update: running Gingerbread and virtually useless)

  10. #9
    Senior Member android8282's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    110
    idk man, i just downloaded android sysyem info by electricsheep on the market and went to system inf/cpu and showed 998.4 mhz.

  11. #10
    Senior Member dd4005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    390
    Quote Originally Posted by android8282 View Post
    idk man, i just downloaded android sysyem info by electricsheep on the market and went to system inf/cpu and showed 998.4 mhz.
    Mine did too eventually (after a couple of goes).

    What did you see next to processor? ARMv7 ? and mahimahi further down?
    o- Nexus One running CyanogenMod 6.0
    o- Samsung Galaxy Tab running stock Froyo (update: running Gingerbread and virtually useless)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

if i have a phones with armv7 processor does that mean i have snapdragon

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum