Do Wifi and 3G run simultaneously?

This is a discussion on Do Wifi and 3G run simultaneously? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Ok so I want to make sure that when I am home and my wifi is enabled my 3G shuts off automatically right? The icon ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Do Wifi and 3G run simultaneously?

  1. #1
    Member windmill360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    66

    Do Wifi and 3G run simultaneously?

    Ok so I want to make sure that when I am home and my wifi is enabled my 3G shuts off automatically right? The icon goes away and the wifi icon appears but I just want to make sure i'm not using up more battery power by leaving the 'Use only 2G networks' option unchecked.

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by windmill360 View Post
    Ok so I want to make sure that when I am home and my wifi is enabled my 3G shuts off automatically right? The icon goes away and the wifi icon appears but I just want to make sure i'm not using up more battery power by leaving the 'Use only 2G networks' option unchecked.
    Do you make phone calls over Wifi? No, 3g/2g is still needed.

  4. #3
    Member SugarMouth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    37
    No.........
    Nexus S
    HTC HD7
    Galaxy Tab

  5. #4
    Senior Member ap3604's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    226
    Quote Originally Posted by windmill360 View Post
    Ok so I want to make sure that when I am home and my wifi is enabled my 3G shuts off automatically right? The icon goes away and the wifi icon appears but I just want to make sure i'm not using up more battery power by leaving the 'Use only 2G networks' option unchecked.
    I believe Wifi shuts down the data connection while in use.

  6. #5
    Liz
    Liz is offline
    Junior Member Liz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    7
    Duh! That's why I've been thinking I have absolutely NO vodafone connection at home then! I'll try turning off my wi-fi and see if I get a signal.
    Thanks for that.
    Liz

  7. #6
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Liz View Post
    Duh! That's why I've been thinking I have absolutely NO vodafone connection at home then! I'll try turning off my wi-fi and see if I get a signal.
    Thanks for that.
    Liz
    There *should* be bars of reception still showing, since you still have a data connection to the tower...is that not the case?

  8. #7
    Member ThatGuy88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by windmill360 View Post
    Ok so I want to make sure that when I am home and my wifi is enabled my 3G shuts off automatically right? The icon goes away and the wifi icon appears but I just want to make sure i'm not using up more battery power by leaving the 'Use only 2G networks' option unchecked.
    Do you make phone calls over Wifi? No, 3g/2g is still needed.
    How can you make calls over Wifi? This would be a great feature to have because one of my houses has no service whatsoever.

  9. #8
    Junior Member Hook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by windmill360 View Post
    Ok so I want to make sure that when I am home and my wifi is enabled my 3G shuts off automatically right? The icon goes away and the wifi icon appears but I just want to make sure i'm not using up more battery power by leaving the 'Use only 2G networks' option unchecked.
    There's a great little free app in the Market called Quick Settings. It allows you to separately turn off all data (3G and 2G) and leave voice, text and wifi on. It removes any ambiguity about whether an app is using data or wifi.

  10. #9
    Android Lurker Lionsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    The only way 3G uses energy is when it's transmitting or receiving data over your service network, but since Android automatically uses the best internet connection available your 3G is more or less idle. The only time I've seen my N1 use WiFi and 3G at the same time is when I'm at home using WiFi to surf the internet and receive or replay to a SMS or MMS. SMS and MMS use wap to transfer it's data.

  11. #10
    Android Lurker Lionsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    If you want to make a call over WiFi just search in the market for "VoIP" theirs plenty of apps,some are free other are paid and a few have monthly subscription (like Vonage). Just don't expect something amazing from a all free service.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android 4.2 3g and wifi simultaneously
,
android app that automatically choses wifi over cell phone signal
,
android cant run 3 g and wifi
,

android cell and wifi simultaneously

,
android turned off wifi but wifi icon appears
,

android wifi 3g simultaneously

,
does wifi run your 3g down?
,
how can i run 3g and wifi at same time on my galaxy s3?
,
how to use 3g and wifi at the same time on s3
,
navigate to mcdonalds
,
running wifi and 3 g simultaneously on android
,
shouldirundataandwifitogether
,
wifi 3g android simultaneously
,
wifi and 3g at the same time android
,
wifi and 3g simultaneously iphone
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum