Beware the Froyo!

This is a discussion on Beware the Froyo! within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Originally Posted by rioja Should hold you over for the time being. Thanks! I'll give that a try....

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: Beware the Froyo!

  1. #21
    Android Lurker maris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rioja View Post
    Should hold you over for the time being.
    Thanks! I'll give that a try.

  2. #22
    Super Moderator sliceburgslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanked
    14 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dimmakherbs View Post
    Well you can call it what you want and we can play semantic games, but the bottom line is you didn't get this OTA because it wasn't meant for you yet.
    So I am trying to let people know that they are updating to something early and may not have features that work. It is also updating your radio

    So far we have:
    wifi not working for some
    3g not working for some
    apps not showing up to restore
    apps not working
    launcher loops
    lots of force close issues (i stopped counting)
    i had a bug where the messenger app would press and either go to market, gallery, or somewhere else.

    your not gonna get support on issues if you arent' supposed to have it, so upgrade at your own risk. that is all
    No one is forcing you to update to Froyo...I got a N1 specifically because of updates like this. We are on the Bleeding Edge buddy! There will be Bugs
    [PHONE] Nexus 4

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [TABLET] Nexus 7

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

  3. #23
    Super Moderator sliceburgslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanked
    14 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dimmakherbs View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Budske View Post
    so, to get the OTA update. i need to flash the stock recovery and ROM??

    thats mean the EPE54B???
    Budske if your rooted, just save, wipe, flash the rooted version!
    Funny how you are encouraging people to get the update in one thread and Arguing against it in another thread...
    [PHONE] Nexus 4

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [TABLET] Nexus 7

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

  4. #24
    Junior Member Wolfwise's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    15
    Guess ill wait for google to send it to my phone. Scared to screw something up or get a corrupted version. Waiting patiently.

  5. #25
    Senior Member dimmakherbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    475
    Quote Originally Posted by SliceBurgSlim View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dimmakherbs View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Budske View Post
    so, to get the OTA update. i need to flash the stock recovery and ROM??

    thats mean the EPE54B???
    Budske if your rooted, just save, wipe, flash the rooted version!
    Funny how you are encouraging people to get the update in one thread and Arguing against it in another thread...

    First of all I am on the forum to help. one thread asks for help getting FROYO and the other is a thread about having issues with FROYO and how things aren't working for his phone and "I can't live without this feature, I no longer have on FROYO".
    I have been pointing out, as I guess you can't see, that people should be aware when they are manually updating this early that there are consequences, bugs, and glitches and they are doing this at their own risk.
    This is stated quite clearly in the Rooting section before flashing and rooting, but was never clear to anyone before flashing this update.
    Many people are now wondering how to revert back to 2.1 and wait for OTA so their phone isn't buggy.
    Nexus One and luvin it
    Rooted 5/6/2010
    Enomther 2.10.1 Froyo Release

  6. #26
    Senior Member gregornz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    114
    If your having issues with swype, I suggest trying out 'shapewriter', which is a great keyboard.

    Swype never worked for me, citing resolutions issues.

  7. #27
    Senior Member N1David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    866
    Quote Originally Posted by gregornz View Post
    If your having issues with swype, I suggest trying out 'shapewriter', which is a great keyboard.

    Swype never worked for me, citing resolutions issues.
    I'm using Smart Keyboard Pro and have no problems with the update.

  8. #28
    Android Lurker maris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    0
    Got an email from Swype and they are working on an update to fix any FroYo issues. They really on top of things.

  9. #29
    Junior Member olilan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5
    Anyone looking for calendar search in Froyo - try my app Searchify apps by olilan Searchify

    I've just updated it so it's now fully compatible with Froyo.

    It's integrated into the phone search box, and as well as calendar search it's got calendar entry, wikipedia search, translation, calculation, keyword and unit conversion features. Oh, and it's free.

  10. #30
    Android Lurker Mightytalldude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jah View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by johnny cizzle View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jah View Post
    Mine just won't work at all. Having to relearn the stock keyboard.
    Uninstall it and start over.that's what I had to do
    Not sure I still have it. Hmm.

    Edit: Nope. Reinstalled and still not working. bummer.
    I have the last beta invite of Swype and I had to uninstall and reinstall from Swype again. It works but if you turn your phone off, you'll have to long press and select android keyboard then long press again to select Swype again and then it works fine. Only glitch that I found. Hope this helps. I would go crazy without Swype as it's too valuable in my daily tasks. :nexusx:

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum