Why switch from 3G to WiFi?

This is a discussion on Why switch from 3G to WiFi? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; At home my 3G speeds are nearly as fast as my wifi speeds. I have 20mb internet, too. The bottleneck is how fast the snapdragon ...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Why switch from 3G to WiFi?

  1. #11
    Junior Member TheScavenger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    21
    At home my 3G speeds are nearly as fast as my wifi speeds. I have 20mb internet, too. The bottleneck is how fast the snapdragon can render the webpage not the connection.

  2. #12
    Junior Member robsw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheanzy View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by T&C View Post
    3G speed at 256 vs wifi at home @50mg..

    Thats a no brainer, you all with ATT are in for issues with the cap.

    Not necessarily. When I had my iPhone, I used it religiously for college and my job as a police officer and my data was NEVER close to the 2GB DataPro plan that AT&T has released.

    Of course with the N1 running background apps, this could prove me wrong.

    Does anyone know how much data they average a month? Let me know!
    I just went back and looked at the last several months usage. This was split among my N1 (for the last 2+ months), a blackberry 9700 and an iPhone 3GS. It was all over the map, depending on how much travel I did, but the low was just under 500MB and the high was just over 1.5GB.

  3. #13
    Senior Member hawon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    170
    Quote Originally Posted by TheScavenger View Post
    At home my 3G speeds are nearly as fast as my wifi speeds. I have 20mb internet, too. The bottleneck is how fast the snapdragon can render the webpage not the connection.
    maybe something wrong with your N1? with WiFi, I consistently can get 13000kbps.. with 3G, i'm lucky to get 3000kbps. besides numbers from the speedtest Snapdragon can render pages a lot faster than the speed provided by 3G... WiFi FTW in my situation.

  4. #14
    Senior Member vinny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    108
    If wifi is faster that is one good reason, my 3G is super fast in my area so that is not my reason. I think if more people used their wifi while at home and when they could the traffic on the internet would not be so crowded, just being green and I think it's just smart.:blackberry: >

  5. #15
    mah
    mah is offline
    Senior Member mah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by niqueh View Post
    Since my Wireless is set to allow only specific MAC address components to tap in, how would I find my phones mac address?
    Settings->About Phone->Status, close to the bottom you'll find the wifi MAC address.

  6. #16
    Member russtnail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by robsw View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheanzy View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by T&C View Post
    3G speed at 256 vs wifi at home @50mg..

    Thats a no brainer, you all with ATT are in for issues with the cap.

    Not necessarily. When I had my iPhone, I used it religiously for college and my job as a police officer and my data was NEVER close to the 2GB DataPro plan that AT&T has released.

    Of course with the N1 running background apps, this could prove me wrong.

    Does anyone know how much data they average a month? Let me know!
    I just went back and looked at the last several months usage. This was split among my N1 (for the last 2+ months), a blackberry 9700 and an iPhone 3GS. It was all over the map, depending on how much travel I did, but the low was just under 500MB and the high was just over 1.5GB.
    It is pretty sporadic. Last month i used around 700MB, this month I've used 4.95 which is pretty close to your cap. But i did some traveling and this was my computer. It's also steadily gone up each month as I somehow find a way to use it more.

  7. #17
    Senior Member tonybhoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    981
    i take the sim out when im abroad and just use wifi for everything,i even had fring on wifi talking to my mates

  8. #18
    Junior Member niqueh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    26
    I was kind of hoping using the wifi would cut down on the recorded data usage on my phone, but no such luck. Checking the usage page, it was still adding to my data usage count. I've had the phone 1 week, and I'm at 196mb. AT&Ts position that folks will never go over 200mg? Well........ And I don't tweet, don't use videos, or even have my email pushed. I retrieve when I get to my phone, make a few call, download some apps and play with them a bit, a few texts, some FB posts and reads, and some browsing. Pretty basic stuff I'd say.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Is Samsung goiung to fix bluetooth???
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 04:07 PM

Search tags for this page

change from 3g to wifi on android phones
,
does wifi use less data
,

does wifi use less data than 3g

,
is it cheaper to use 3g or wifi
,

is it cheaper to use wifi or 3g

,
is wifi cheaper than 3g
,
just use wifi instead of 3g
,
setup lgl75 to use wifi instead of 3g
,
switch phone from 3g to wifi at home
,
what is cheaper 3g or wifi
,
what is cheaper wifi or 3g
,
which is cheaper wifi or 3g
,
why phone will not switch from 3g to wifi at home
,
why switch phone to wifi
,

why use wifi instead of 3g

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum