"My phone number" says "Unknown"

This is a discussion on "My phone number" says "Unknown" within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Any idea how I change the setting from "Unknown" to my actual number?:confused: Or is this something that is set by my service provider?...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: "My phone number" says "Unknown"

  1. #1
    Junior Member Reteb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    20

    "My phone number" says "Unknown"

    Any idea how I change the setting from "Unknown" to my actual number?:confused:
    Or is this something that is set by my service provider?

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    cxm
    cxm is offline
    Senior Member cxm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    235
    I have the same issue. Didn't really bother me before but have just found a PTT app that I want to use, but it needs that number for it to work. Anyone know if this is something I can fix or does it have to be done by the carrier.

  4. #3
    Android Lurker Mightytalldude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    Same issue since day one, but haven't worried about it. It transmits the cell number when I call people. Would be interested if a fix is known. :nexusx:

  5. #4
    Junior Member sprocj's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    hi I had the same problem and yesterday borrowed a friends Sony Ericsson C902 on vodafone put in my sim card went to contacts then own phone number typed in mobile number clicked save removed sim put back in phone and up comes number under my phone number in status.
    julian

  6. #5
    Super Moderator AndroidIsTheTruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanked
    10 times
    Settings - Call Settings - Additional Settings - Caller ID

    That should work.
    Androidfied.

  7. #6
    cxm
    cxm is offline
    Senior Member cxm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    235
    Quote Originally Posted by AndroidIsTheTruth View Post
    Settings - Call Settings - Additional Settings - Caller ID

    That should work.
    tried that but still no joy. will get hold of another unlocked phone and see if it gives me the option to edit that info

  8. #7
    Junior Member Reteb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by sprocj View Post
    hi I had the same problem and yesterday borrowed a friends Sony Ericsson C902 on vodafone put in my sim card went to contacts then own phone number typed in mobile number clicked save removed sim put back in phone and up comes number under my phone number in status.
    julian
    I tried this and it works. Thanks Julian.
    The problem for some people is finding another unlocked phone to use.

    Surely there must be a way of editing the phone number on the SIM from within Android, isn't there?

  9. #8
    Junior Member Fraptor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2
    I actually had this problem too. Turns out that AT&T was giving T-Mobile a hard time with porting my number over. I called up T-Mo and told them the appropriate information (they wanted confirmation of my AT&T Account # and PIN) and in 24-hours my number showed up.

    btw, T-Mo has great customer service! got my number ported and got the PHP Insurance in less then 15 minutes.
    :nexusx:

  10. #9
    Senior Member Rusty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    318
    I used an old SE K550i to program my number in. It's essential for Froyo, else you get a big grey square in the stock messaging app.

  11. #10
    trn
    trn is offline
    Junior Member trn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    8
    I have 2 sims that I use in my phone depending on where I am. My AT&T Sim is read fine and shows the number, My China Unicom number does not show.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Ok..finally need some help.
    By androidlover in forum Samsung Galaxy
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-2011, 05:25 AM

Search tags for this page

android how to find my number unknown
,
android how to set my phone number
,

android my phone number unknown

,

android my phone number unknown fix

,
android phone number unknown
,
android phone number unknown fix
,

android set my phone number

,

how to set my phone number

,
my own number unknown android
,

my phone number unknown

,
nexus 5 china unicom my phone number unknown
,
samsung galaxy s3 status my phone number unknown
,
voicemail number unknown android
,
why does my lg cell phone number show as unknown
,
with nexus 5 and 6 it says phone number under phone status - no number
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum