Noob questions about Nexus One: ATT vs. Tmobile, unlock

This is a discussion on Noob questions about Nexus One: ATT vs. Tmobile, unlock within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; yes 900 and 2100 are the most used ones outside North America. 1700 is unique to US....

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: Noob questions about Nexus One: ATT vs. Tmobile, unlock

  1. #21
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    yes

    900 and 2100 are the most used ones outside North America.

    1700 is unique to US.

  2. #22
    Junior Member leesiulung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Since they all share the 2100 band for 3G, why can't either version of the phone use that for 3G?

    Does 3G need more than a band to function properly?

  3. #23
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    Regarding the 2100 band: It is not a question of reception, but a question of transmission.

  4. #24
    Junior Member ron florida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1

    North American vs European bands

    Hi,

    When I purchased my Nexus One, I chose the AT&T (U.S.)/Rogers (Canada) one at 850, 1900, 2100 MHz, because it would give me 3G in Canada with Rogers, and I was told only Edge with T-Mobile in the US.

    The alternative option was to have it configured for 3G onT-Mobile (U.S.) at, I believe, 2100,1700, 900 MHz, for T-Mo's 3G, which would have only given me Edge with Rogers Canada.

    I was told I had to choose between the above two options when I ordered the phone online in April.

    We are going to Europe and I want to get an International SIM and be able to use 3G there, because except on WI-FI, the N1 apps like GPS won't work otherwise.

    I've read that one can change bands by phoning *#*#4636#*#*, then selecting "phone information," hitting the menu key, selecting "radio band" and the "Euro Band." Would this get me 3G in Europe, and also, would selecting "USA Band" get me 3G on T-Mobile when in the US?

    Is the above a way to switch back and forth when required? If not, is there another way?

    Can anyone tell me if this will work before I fork out money for a SIM and set up a prepay account for Europe .

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Android 2.2 iPad Alternatives
    By TMODroids User in forum Off-Topic Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 03:12 AM

Search tags for this page

carrier unlock

,

how to carrier unlock a nexus one

,

how to unlock a nexus one for att

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum