Already got an unlocked bootloader, should I root?

This is a discussion on Already got an unlocked bootloader, should I root? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; guys, thanks - so much good advice there from people in the know. I superbooted today, got the superuser permission and downloaded root explorer, will ...

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: Already got an unlocked bootloader, should I root?

  1. #21
    Android Lurker Floogle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    guys, thanks - so much good advice there from people in the know. I superbooted today, got the superuser permission and downloaded root explorer, will look at some rooted apps like set cpu soon...

    i might try the modaco rom then, as it sounds not too far from stock.

    Anyone had this issue though - i flashed amon ra recovery, it went into the recovery mode and i did a nandroid backup, but when i tried to go back into the recovery, it loaded the stock recovery, NOT the amon ra.

    i did some research on this problem, and people suggested deleting a couple of specific system files (install-from-boot something, cant remember the exact names), so i downloaded root explorer to gain write access to my system and deleted the files, but it still boots into stock recovery! grrrr.

    if i flash a custom rom, will this alleviate the problem? or is there another way?

    btw android is the truth, join me in rooting, we can be the 3rd wave!

  2. #22
    Super Moderator sliceburgslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanked
    14 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Floogle View Post
    guys, thanks - so much good advice there from people in the know. I superbooted today, got the superuser permission and downloaded root explorer, will look at some rooted apps like set cpu soon...

    i might try the modaco rom then, as it sounds not too far from stock.

    Anyone had this issue though - i flashed amon ra recovery, it went into the recovery mode and i did a nandroid backup, but when i tried to go back into the recovery, it loaded the stock recovery, NOT the amon ra.

    i did some research on this problem, and people suggested deleting a couple of specific system files (install-from-boot something, cant remember the exact names), so i downloaded root explorer to gain write access to my system and deleted the files, but it still boots into stock recovery! grrrr.

    if i flash a custom rom, will this alleviate the problem? or is there another way?

    btw android is the truth, join me in rooting, we can be the 3rd wave!
    Thats weird. have you tried flashing clockwork instead?
    [PHONE] Nexus 4

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [TABLET] Nexus 7

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

  3. #23
    Android Lurker Floogle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by SliceBurgSlim View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Floogle View Post
    guys, thanks - so much good advice there from people in the know. I superbooted today, got the superuser permission and downloaded root explorer, will look at some rooted apps like set cpu soon...

    i might try the modaco rom then, as it sounds not too far from stock.

    Anyone had this issue though - i flashed amon ra recovery, it went into the recovery mode and i did a nandroid backup, but when i tried to go back into the recovery, it loaded the stock recovery, NOT the amon ra.

    i did some research on this problem, and people suggested deleting a couple of specific system files (install-from-boot something, cant remember the exact names), so i downloaded root explorer to gain write access to my system and deleted the files, but it still boots into stock recovery! grrrr.

    if i flash a custom rom, will this alleviate the problem? or is there another way?

    btw android is the truth, join me in rooting, we can be the 3rd wave!
    Thats weird. have you tried flashing clockwork instead?
    I take it Clockwork is a different recovery that i could flash- if so, could you direct me to a good site for download?

    I am currently downloading rom manager - am i right in thinking i could use that to access amon ra recovery?

    i could try re-flashing the amon ra recovery and see what happens i guess. just want to make sure the recovery part is sorted before flashing a custom rom.

  4. #24
    Super Moderator sliceburgslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanked
    14 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Floogle View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by SliceBurgSlim View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Floogle View Post
    guys, thanks - so much good advice there from people in the know. I superbooted today, got the superuser permission and downloaded root explorer, will look at some rooted apps like set cpu soon...

    i might try the modaco rom then, as it sounds not too far from stock.

    Anyone had this issue though - i flashed amon ra recovery, it went into the recovery mode and i did a nandroid backup, but when i tried to go back into the recovery, it loaded the stock recovery, NOT the amon ra.

    i did some research on this problem, and people suggested deleting a couple of specific system files (install-from-boot something, cant remember the exact names), so i downloaded root explorer to gain write access to my system and deleted the files, but it still boots into stock recovery! grrrr.

    if i flash a custom rom, will this alleviate the problem? or is there another way?

    btw android is the truth, join me in rooting, we can be the 3rd wave!
    Thats weird. have you tried flashing clockwork instead?
    I take it Clockwork is a different recovery that i could flash- if so, could you direct me to a good site for download?

    I am currently downloading rom manager - am i right in thinking i could use that to access amon ra recovery?

    i could try re-flashing the recovery and see what happens i guess. just want to make sure the recovery part is sorted before flashing a custom rom.
    You are already on the right track my friend. Clockwork can be flashed in Rom Manager. You can use AmonRa also but Clockwork and Rom Manager go hand in hand.
    [PHONE] Nexus 4

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [TABLET] Nexus 7

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Android 2.2 iPad Alternatives
    By TMODroids User in forum Off-Topic Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 03:12 AM

Search tags for this page

do i need to root my phone if its already unlocked?

,

how to root an already unlocked nexus

,

i bootloaded my android now do i need a root?

,

if my bootloader is unlocked, can i use root apps

,

my boot loader says unlocked, but my phone is not rooted

,

my bootloader is unlock how can i root my android

,

root already unlocked nexus 10

,

should bootloader be unlocked to use superuser

,

should i root my s3 or unlock the bootloader

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum