Just got an N1, have questions

This is a discussion on Just got an N1, have questions within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; I am an iPhone developer and someone gave me a (slightly used) Nexus One. I think it is the developer model because it has picture ...

Thread: Just got an N1, have questions

Just got an N1, have questions

I am an iPhone developer and someone gave me a (slightly used) Nexus One. I think it is the developer model because it has picture of the Android robot on the back holding a flag with a QR code on it. I have some questions.

First, how do I get Froyo? Mine is running 2.1 and it claims to be running the latest OS. Could this be because I am only using Wi-Fi for data?

Second, how can I get inexpensive mobile service on the device in the US? Since I'm an indie/amateur developer I don't have a budget for another phone plan. I tried using my iPad SIM (using a micro SIM to SIM adapter) and the N1 can see the network but not make any data connection. I can use my iPhone SIM and it will make and receive phone calls (not sure about data) but I don't like that solution (since I can't use my iPhone). Can I get a T-Mobile or AT&T prepaid SIM for it? Where do I get one Will it support data usage?

Third, how do I know which 3G this phone supports (AT&T or T-Mobile USA)?

Thanks. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

From the flag with the QR code, you have a Google gift phone. It is one of the phones they gave employees during Christmas 2009.
    :nexusx:

AT&T ne:nexusx:us S on AT&T
    AT&T ne:nexusx:us one on Taiwan Mobile [Missing in Taipei]
    Archos 70 with UrukDroid

Your phone is also a T-Mobile 3G phone. So if you get an AT&T SIM, it will only work at Edge data speeds.

How to tell if you have the AT&T Nexus One or the T-Mobile Nexus One