Google Maps Update

This is a discussion on Google Maps Update within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Originally Posted by danger-rat Instructions: 1) Download file 2) Extract 3) Move to /system/etc/permissions 4) Delete "android.hardware.touchscreen.multitouch.xml" 5) Change permissions of moved file to read/write, ...

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 42

Thread: Google Maps Update

  1. #31
    Junior Member umplarry's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by danger-rat View Post
    Instructions:

    1) Download file
    2) Extract
    3) Move to /system/etc/permissions
    4) Delete "android.hardware.touchscreen.multitouch.xml"
    5) Change permissions of moved file to read/write, read & read (by long-pressing on the file and choosing permissions) rw-r--r--
    6) Reboot


    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk
    Thanks, when I hit move from astro file mover, then go to permissions, I can't get the file to actually move, but I will keep trying. Thanks for the help

  2. #32
    Super Moderator AndroidIsTheTruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanked
    10 times
    Quote Originally Posted by umplarry View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by danger-rat View Post
    Instructions:

    1) Download file
    2) Extract
    3) Move to /system/etc/permissions
    4) Delete "android.hardware.touchscreen.multitouch.xml"
    5) Change permissions of moved file to read/write, read & read (by long-pressing on the file and choosing permissions) rw-r--r--
    6) Reboot


    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk
    Thanks, when I hit move from astro file mover, then go to permissions, I can't get the file to actually move, but I will keep trying. Thanks for the help
    I think you need root explorer but I could be wrong.
    Androidfied.

  3. #33
    Senior Member baseballfanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    269
    Yeah you need Root explorer as Astros does not access root files.
    **************
    Ne:nexusx:uS One ROOTED
    Cyanogen Mod Nightly ROM




  4. #34
    Senior Member FlyingsCool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    369
    Quote Originally Posted by baseballfanz View Post
    N1 running CM 6.1.1. Maps rotation working now.

    Follow this thread
    xda-developers - View Single Post - [ROM][BBQ] CyanogenMod-6.1 for Nexus One :: V6.1.1 (12/15/2010)

    Remember to change Permissions to 644
    So I checked out the file, it's just 3 lines, one of them saying "multitouch distinct"

    What's this all about?
    Did the Nexus have distinct multitouch all along?
    Is it just tricking Google Maps into thinking it does (making it so it kinda works)?
    Is this for Cyanogen only?

  5. #35
    Senior Member baseballfanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    269
    The problem is the digitizer sucks and I think that's the one reason
    Google left the N1 out of the "FULL" features.
    They didn't want anyone to see how sorry the hardware was.:D

    While it work, it's funny at time. Map spin opposite of how you rotate, LOL.
    I find it best to keep one finger still and use the other finger to rotate.
    If you try to move both fingers it goes out of wack
    **************
    Ne:nexusx:uS One ROOTED
    Cyanogen Mod Nightly ROM




  6. #36
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    True - the digitizer isn't up to the job. I find it works better if you move your fingers at 45 degrees to the main axis, and of course, don't cross axis...

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  7. #37
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    As has been mentioned many times in this forum (please search as I don't remember which thread), the Nexus One does NOT have a TRUE multi-touch screen. It just doesn't.

    It has a dual-touch screen. That's all. And it does have an axis flipping problem with that.

  8. #38
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    We know...

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  9. #39
    Junior Member umplarry's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by baseballfanz View Post
    Yeah you need Root explorer as Astros does not access root files.
    Thanks, just purchased Will try now

  10. #40
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    You can also kinda use estrongs, which has root access (sort of)... :-/

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum