More memory required

This is a discussion on More memory required within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Hi Folks, I am new to this so please bear with me. Quick question for you all, i have recently added a 16gb sd card ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: More memory required

More memory required

Hi Folks, I am new to this so please bear with me. Quick question for you all, i have recently added a 16gb sd card to my phone but i am not receiving messages or emails because my internal phone memory is always low. I think this is because of the number of apps installed. I thought with this size of card i would have ample space but it appears not. Bearing in mind i am a novice, is there an easy way to utilize my cards memory instead of my phones.
    Any help gratefully received.

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

3 things you can do besides just cleaning out some of your apps that you don't use:

1) get an "app 2 SD" app (there are several in the market) and use it to figure out which apps you can move to your SD card. Using stock android, you are stuck with only moving those apps that are written to support this (there aren't many).

2) there are instructions out there for changing a setting on your phone (maybe somebody could post the link, I forget where it is). This setting tells android where to put your apps, and you can change it so it puts your apps on the SD card by default (instead of internal memory). You'll need to load the Android SDK (software development kit) on your PC, use it to change the setting, and then remove and reinstall all the apps you want to store on the SD card instead of internal memory. Apparently this will allow you to move apps that aren't designed to be stored on the SD card. I'm not sure what the side effects of this method are.