The phone I bought is rooted....what does that mean to me?

This is a discussion on The phone I bought is rooted....what does that mean to me? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Sorry in advance for all the questions.....I'm not even sure this is in the right section.... I'm completely new to the whole android system (I ...

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The phone I bought is rooted....what does that mean to me?

The phone I bought is rooted....what does that mean to me?

Sorry in advance for all the questions.....I'm not even sure this is in the right section....

I'm completely new to the whole android system (I just got a xoom a couple weeks ago) and the phone I bought and am waiting on is rooted. What does that mean to me? Is there anything I can do to screw up the phone? Will the phone be impeded any way by this? Can I accidentally "un root" or harm anything when I get updates? Thanks!

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Ok well being rooted means you have superuser access I don't know if you know the term "jailbreaking" for iphones well rooting is the equivalent for android phones and basically it means you have access to file you wouldn't normally you can easily unroot or stay rooted and explore the awesomeness that it comes with it. The best way to learn about root would be to check out the development and hacking section.

Yes you can accidentally "unroot" your phone. Its not a big deal now that we have gingerbreak, but you might want to avoid it being rooted opens up a whole new world for you and your phone.

The fact that you are on the forum asking this question tells me that you are one who would seek out and enjoy the benefits.

Dude is correct. Check out the hacking forum.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by dudewithaplan View Post
    Dude is correct. Check out the hacking forum.
    Which Dude? ... :rofl3:

Wink

Both of us ;-)