Does android sync with ANY desktop programs?

This is a discussion on Does android sync with ANY desktop programs? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Im new to android. In fact, I may go back to WM based on the answers I receive here. So I have been playing around ...

Thread: Does android sync with ANY desktop programs?

Does android sync with ANY desktop programs?

Im new to android. In fact, I may go back to WM based on the answers I receive here.

So I have been playing around with the nexus one for a few days. Shelled out the 600 bones and am loving its speed and newness. Great browsers, great features (voice to text is really nice). The apps are abundant, but my gosh, most of them are useless and gimmicky. Seriously, a note to developers: You really do the OS a disservice with fart noise and lightsabre apps. How many are needed? Make a useful app for crying out loud. There is currently only a small handful of them right now.

However, one thing I noticed was that the OS itself seems to be completely geared towards cloud computing. Not just for contacts and schedules (google's answer to outlook) but for everything. If I buy a fitness app and want a desktop counterpart, it seems I have to use the app creater's website to sync with over the air. Want to keep track of your finances? Use the banks website, or a service like Mint. However, there are issues with this.

I don't want certain information on someone else server if it can be avoided; using a website to interact with the data on your phone is dependent on a lot of different variables to ensure a decent user experience; and most people dont want o wade through advertising.

Does the OS have a built in, direct to PC sync mechanism and developers are just bypassing this to sell subscriptions to their websites? Or is this phone simply not built for that?

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .