Will the current (T-Mobile) N1 work on Verizon when they are ready?

This is a discussion on Will the current (T-Mobile) N1 work on Verizon when they are ready? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; I purchased the unlocked GSM N1 to use on the T-Mobile month-to-month service. But might want to switch to Verizon when they are ready. Is ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Will the current (T-Mobile) N1 work on Verizon when they are ready?

  1. #1
    Junior Member RealtorRyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12

    Will the current (T-Mobile) N1 work on Verizon when they are ready?

    I purchased the unlocked GSM N1 to use on the T-Mobile month-to-month service. But might want to switch to Verizon when they are ready. Is the current phone capable of handling Verizon's network? Or must I get a new phone completely?

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Member milkjuice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    38
    I am sure you'll be able to use it for verizon when they come out with it, they're coming out with CDMA I believe in spring. I'm not too certain though.

  4. #3
    Senior Member sotorious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    272
    Also there 3G bands are different.

  5. #4
    Member Jaredu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by RealtorRyan View Post
    I purchased the unlocked GSM N1 to use on the T-Mobile month-to-month service. But might want to switch to Verizon when they are ready. Is the current phone capable of handling Verizon's network? Or must I get a new phone completely?
    the one you have currently is a GSM phone, so no, it won't work.

    if you plan on switching you'll need to get the CDMA version with no sim card.

  6. #5
    Member milkjuice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    38
    Ohh, but the commercials say they have the best 3g coverage in the nation! :P facepalm.jpg @ Verizon.

  7. #6
    Junior Member RealtorRyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Is there proof somewhere that the current GSM N1 doesn't also have the CDMA tech as well. A la "world phone?"

  8. #7
    Member Jaredu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by RealtorRyan View Post
    Is there proof somewhere that the current GSM N1 doesn't also have the CDMA tech as well. A la "world phone?"
    The FCC's only cleared this one for GSM. It says what bands it supports on the specs page of Nexus One Phone - Web meets phone.

  9. #8
    Member joker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    59
    Quote Originally Posted by RealtorRyan View Post
    Is there proof somewhere that the current GSM N1 doesn't also have the CDMA tech as well. A la "world phone?"
    Ryan

    Yes. It's in the technical specs. There is NO CDMA version. GSM ONLY.

    And for your info, CDMA has nothing do with the world, no one outside the USA uses CDMA.

    In other words, if you have your verizon (or sprint phone) anywhere in Europe.
    You will have no service at all.

  10. #9
    Android Jr Member Backnblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanked
    4 times
    Quote Originally Posted by joker View Post
    In other words, if you have your verizon (or sprint phone) anywhere in Europe.
    You will have no service at all.
    True, but there is not a better network in the US...And yes, I've used them all....

  11. #10
    Member Jaredu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by Backnblack View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by joker View Post
    In other words, if you have your verizon (or sprint phone) anywhere in Europe.
    You will have no service at all.
    True, but there is not a better network in the US...And yes, I've used them all....
    That depends completely on your location.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Google Voice Gets New Widgets on G2
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-26-2010, 12:07 PM
  2. Samsung Vibrant vs T-Mobile G2?
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 12:51 AM
  3. Got a samsung vibrant on my possession
    By DF Member in forum Samsung Vibrant
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-02-2010, 12:08 PM
  4. Anyone upset with the Epic 4G price tag?
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 01:49 PM

Search tags for this page

attila n1 mobile

,

realtorryan.com/2010/09/

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum