Nexus one APPEARS HEADED for AT&T / rogers / bell / telus!!!

This is a discussion on Nexus one APPEARS HEADED for AT&T / rogers / bell / telus!!! within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Nexus One for AT&T's 3G bands likely in the works -- Engadget " By all appearances, Google's trying to break Android free of the surly ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Nexus one APPEARS HEADED for AT&T / rogers / bell / telus!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member amorak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Nexus one APPEARS HEADED for AT&T / rogers / bell / telus!!!

    Nexus One for AT&T's 3G bands likely in the works -- Engadget

    "By all appearances, Google's trying to break Android free of the surly bonds of the manufacturers and carriers that support it, opening its own online store and selling unlocked Nexus Ones to anyone willing to pony up the $529. Problem is, the Nexus One as we know it today is only available in a configuration that supports North American 3G on AWS spectrum, meaning you've got to go with the States' fourth-largest carrier if you want to blaze -- you've got no other option. That's not very "open," is it, Google?

    That brings us to an FCC finding today. Take a look at the two labels above; the one on the right comes from the current Nexus One. The label on the left, meanwhile, is physically identical and comes from a new filing for a device with FCC ID NM899110. The old Nexus One has ID NM899100, so this new device is just a single digit off -- likely a variant of the existing model. If you look into the RF reports a bit, you'll immediately notice that the new handset supports 3G on WCDMA Bands I, II, and V, meaning that it'll work on AT&T (and Rogers, Bell, and Telus for the Canadians in the room) along with most of Europe. Same label style, nearly identical model ID, different bands -- we think we know what's going on here. Google, your move.
    "

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member Sophia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    267
    So, for Europe, which model would be better to purchase?

  4. #3
    Member bav1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    54
    Dang! I just checked and mine is the old FCC number, I was hoping it wasn't but it' cool. I'll probably be with T-mobile for awhile but, it would be nice for it to work in Europe or most places in Europe like the article claims.

  5. #4
    Administrator WERA689's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    2,418
    Thanked
    55 times
    I changed the title of this thread, since this is NOT confirmed at this point. As evidence of this, I quote the following: "we think we know what's going on here. Google, your move. "

  6. #5
    Member LMControl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    45
    Good news for the consumer. Having a choice in carrier is always a good thing.

  7. #6
    Junior Member vze4yrte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    26
    wait so long story short is that people in the future who go to purchase this phone will have the selection of what carrier to choose from ? meaning no issues or anything?

  8. #7
    Junior Member LCRKZ0023's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5
    But isn't odd it's not on the google's "coming soon" purchase webpage like how verizon, etc...If they knew they were releasing in the Spring then why isn't it listed...

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum