Non USA users

This is a discussion on Non USA users within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Is anyone having its phone display the R letter in the signal bar icon, as you were roaming ?!?! Mine does, even though I am ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Non USA users

  1. #1
    Junior Member pakal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16

    Non USA users

    Is anyone having its phone display the R letter in the signal bar icon, as you were roaming ?!?! Mine does, even though I am registered to my own local operator and I am not roaming.
    I've not been able to find an answer yet, and I am tempted to think that is related to non USA operators.
    P_

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Junior Member Matey101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Uk user on orange here, no R in sight for me.

    Not sure why its like that :3

  4. #3
    Junior Member pakal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16
    I believe you can disable DATA roaming, not phone call roaming. If so how do you disable it.

  5. #4
    cxm
    cxm is offline
    Senior Member cxm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    235
    uk user on vodafone - never seen the R, but then I have roaming disabled

  6. #5
    Junior Member Lure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    I get R only when really roaming - on home network (Mobitel/Slovenia), I do not get R.
    You may want to check if the phone detects your network provider from the SIM card properly: go to Settings -> About phone -> Status

  7. #6
    Junior Member Dan14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    21
    O2 here and no issue...Have you tried turning off Roaming?

  8. #7
    Junior Member pakal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16
    Problem solved, it's just my SIM card that has a different name from the operator tower (it's a 1 year old sim card and the operator now has a different commercial name, but the company is the same) . Thus the phone thinks its roaming, while it's actually connected to the SIM's provider.
    P_

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to connect to server but I can get on the web
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-12-2010, 11:07 PM
  2. rooting phone
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 08:02 PM
  3. 100 Members!
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 01:44 PM
Android Forum