what does "make default number" do?

This is a discussion on what does "make default number" do? within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; in your address book, if you got more than one number for a person, if you LONG PRESS on one of their numbers, it gives ...

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: what does "make default number" do?

  1. #1
    Senior Member jdeproductions's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    138

    what does "make default number" do?

    in your address book, if you got more than one number for a person, if you LONG PRESS on one of their numbers, it gives you the option of "make default number"

    what does this do? if i do the "SPEAK NOW" microphone button on the google widget, and say "call brandon" it calls the number i dont want it to call.

    i set "make default number" and it still calls the number i dont want it to

    then i thought because in my address book i got 2 numbers,, i had his "other" number listed on the top.. so i deleted it, then added it again so it comes up second on the list.

    now the main number i want to call is ON TOP and its MARKED AS DEFAULT, but it still dont call the number i want it to

    any ideas?
    JDEPRODUCTIONS.COM - AN ONGOING COLLECTION OF EVERYTHING THAT PREVENTS ME FROM BEING A PRODUCTIVE MEMBER OF SOCIETY

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Google Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
    Android.net is the premier Android Forum on the internet.


  3. #2
    Senior Member Bishop6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    937
    Quote Originally Posted by jdeproductions View Post
    in your address book, if you got more than one number for a person, if you LONG PRESS on one of their numbers, it gives you the option of "make default number"

    what does this do? if i do the "SPEAK NOW" microphone button on the google widget, and say "call brandon" it calls the number i dont want it to call.

    i set "make default number" and it still calls the number i dont want it to

    then i thought because in my address book i got 2 numbers,, i had his "other" number listed on the top.. so i deleted it, then added it again so it comes up second on the list.

    now the main number i want to call is ON TOP and its MARKED AS DEFAULT, but it still dont call the number i want it to

    any ideas?
    Is the number your trying to call listed as your contacts mobile?
    I found with some situation making your contacts primary number 'mobile' and not work or home normally fix that problem.

    It may work for your situation!!

  4. #3
    Senior Member jdeproductions's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    138
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop6 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jdeproductions View Post
    in your address book, if you got more than one number for a person, if you LONG PRESS on one of their numbers, it gives you the option of "make default number"

    what does this do? if i do the "SPEAK NOW" microphone button on the google widget, and say "call brandon" it calls the number i dont want it to call.

    i set "make default number" and it still calls the number i dont want it to

    then i thought because in my address book i got 2 numbers,, i had his "other" number listed on the top.. so i deleted it, then added it again so it comes up second on the list.

    now the main number i want to call is ON TOP and its MARKED AS DEFAULT, but it still dont call the number i want it to

    any ideas?
    Is the number your trying to call listed as your contacts mobile?
    I found with some situation making your contacts primary number 'mobile' and not work or home normally fix that problem.

    It may work for your situation!!
    yes, its listed as "mobile"

    and the other number i changed from "other" to "home" ,, i tried to change it to all combonations
    JDEPRODUCTIONS.COM - AN ONGOING COLLECTION OF EVERYTHING THAT PREVENTS ME FROM BEING A PRODUCTIVE MEMBER OF SOCIETY

  5. #4
    Senior Member dg36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    115
    When in your contact list you press the contacts icon/photo you'll get a quick list, i.e. phone, contact info, message, email, etc.... The default number will be linked to the phone icon.

    Doesn't have anything to do with voice dialing, atleast to my knowledge.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Ok..finally need some help.
    By androidlover in forum Samsung Galaxy
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-2011, 04:25 AM
  2. Must have Android Apps for the Epic
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-18-2010, 08:18 PM

Search tags for this page

default number

,
make default number
,

mark as default

,
mark as default meaning
,

mark as default means

,
meaning of default number
,
meaning of mark as default
,
what does default mean on a phone
,

what does make default number mean

,

what does mark as default mean

,

what does mark as default mean on my phone

,
what does mark as default means
,

what is a default number

,
what is default number
,
what is mark as default android contact
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum