T-Mos HSPA+ Upgrade to Hit the Coasts First

This is a discussion on T-Mos HSPA+ Upgrade to Hit the Coasts First within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; usually get btw 300 and 600 in the seattle area... get edge a lot of time but its usually above 100 which is fine for ...

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: T-Mos HSPA+ Upgrade to Hit the Coasts First

  1. #11
    Junior Member r3awak3n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18
    usually get btw 300 and 600 in the seattle area... get edge a lot of time but its usually above 100 which is fine for light searches. 21mbps would be ridiculous but i would prefer if more areas get 3g because 7mbps is just fine.

  2. #12
    Senior Member deel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    300
    i get 3g everywhere in nyc except my apt. i only get edge here. so with this switch, do you think it will fix my 3g issue? there is a known problem with my building that att and tmobile have bad service. i read it in some apartment forum when i was looking to move, dont ask me how or why, but i dont get 3g when at home

  3. #13
    Android Lurker Jason McConnell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2
    Twitter
    jaymcc820
    My phone says it's on HSDPA but here's what I get in Central NY...

    D: 854 kbps
    U: 409 kbps

  4. #14
    Senior Member NexusWon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    133
    Quote Originally Posted by deel View Post
    i get 3g everywhere in nyc except my apt. i only get edge here. so with this switch, do you think it will fix my 3g issue? there is a known problem with my building that att and tmobile have bad service. i read it in some apartment forum when i was looking to move, dont ask me how or why, but i dont get 3g when at home

    I wish I knew. It seems to reason that they'd boost their 3G signal strength, along with the upgraded HSPDA speed, but I don't know officially.

    I'm fairly lucky in this aspect, I think I've only seen the phone on the Edge network once since I bought it. I tend to stay in the city limits though. Country folk scare me.
    :nexusx: A new hope. :nexusx:

  5. #15
    Member ArcticWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    45
    I would just like for them to expand their coverage.

  6. #16
    Senior Member deel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    300
    Quote Originally Posted by NexusWon View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by deel View Post
    i get 3g everywhere in nyc except my apt. i only get edge here. so with this switch, do you think it will fix my 3g issue? there is a known problem with my building that att and tmobile have bad service. i read it in some apartment forum when i was looking to move, dont ask me how or why, but i dont get 3g when at home

    I wish I knew. It seems to reason that they'd boost their 3G signal strength, along with the upgraded HSPDA speed, but I don't know officially.

    I'm fairly lucky in this aspect, I think I've only seen the phone on the Edge network once since I bought it. I tend to stay in the city limits though. Country folk scare me.
    cant get more city than me bud, i live in manhattan. i think it's the way these buildings were built, too much steel and concrete in these high rises

  7. #17
    Senior Member NexusWon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    133
    Quote Originally Posted by deel View Post

    cant get more city than me bud, i live in manhattan. i think it's the way these buildings were built, too much steel and concrete in these high rises

    Very true!
    :nexusx: A new hope. :nexusx:

  8. #18
    Senior Member d1mitrov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    339
    he funny thing is t-mo reps are so oblivious....i talked to a lady a few weeks ago and asked her what my speeds should be she said 3g is anywhere between 300kbps to like 700kbps or something like that...then a few days later i talked to a tech guy he told me that this hspda 7.2 network is already rolled out troughout the US sooo i dont know who to believe anymore...anyway my speeds are between 300kbps and 900kbps...i too would be happy with anything over 1mbp. 7 is what i get on wifi from my cable connection....
    :nexusx: Nexus One Beta Tester

  9. #19
    Senior Member ezeddiekun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    776
    Quote Originally Posted by d1mitrov View Post
    he funny thing is t-mo reps are so oblivious....i talked to a lady a few weeks ago and asked her what my speeds should be she said 3g is anywhere between 300kbps to like 700kbps or something like that...then a few days later i talked to a tech guy he told me that this hspda 7.2 network is already rolled out troughout the US sooo i dont know who to believe anymore...anyway my speeds are between 300kbps and 900kbps...i too would be happy with anything over 1mbp. 7 is what i get on wifi from my cable connection....
    Sadly. 7mbps surpass what I get at home LOL!

  10. #20
    Senior Member Fuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    617
    The terms are very misleading, as usual with any broadband company. You will never get the full throughput of the signal, period. dot. Right now I have the "Comcast 10mbs cable" package, yet will only hit about 4mbs tops. I will never truly get 10mbs. Same thing with wireless data.
    Rooted Nexus One

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum