using 2 gmails

This is a discussion on using 2 gmails within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; Hi, I currently do not own a nexus one but i wanted to ask a question before i buy it. I want to know if ...

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: using 2 gmails

  1. #1
    Member Alexpeegs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    85

    Smile using 2 gmails

    Hi,
    I currently do not own a nexus one but i wanted to ask a question before i buy it.
    I want to know if I could use 1 of my gmails just for purchasing apps in the market while having my other account for my personal life. Do i have to use just one?

    Please let me know,
    I am happy to find the nexus one right for me

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Member soongteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43
    Hi there.

    Yes you could. The Google Account that you want to use to purchase apps, must be your primary account, which is set during the first time add a Google Account.

    You can have multiple GMail accounts, including Google Apps GMail. They will be sync if you choose to.

  4. #3
    Member Alexpeegs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    85
    If it is set primary does that mean it is set primary in the gmail app.
    I'm try to set a application buying account for the market but i don't want to use it for email uses. I don't want to screw up and buy an app with my account that isn't for buying apps.

  5. #4
    Junior Member idioteknQues's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    28
    yes you can. i have two gmail accounts set up on my N1. when i buy apps my main gmail account is always used, but i get notifications for my secondary gmail account like clockwork (i use that one just for online dating )
    ---------------------
    www.simplyathos.com

  6. #5
    Senior Member americanexpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    158
    Going to suck adding contacts..

  7. #6
    Member soongteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by Alexpeegs View Post
    If it is set primary does that mean it is set primary in the gmail app.
    I'm try to set a application buying account for the market but i don't want to use it for email uses. I don't want to screw up and buy an app with my account that isn't for buying apps.
    no no..
    you can set the account to sync or not sync (activate or deactivate) your email accounts.

    you can do like this:
    acc4apps@gmail.com as the primary account (first added account, not sync'd with google services)
    acc4mail@gmail.com added after that (sync email/contacts/calendar/etc)

  8. #7
    Android Jr Member Backnblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanked
    4 times
    Quote Originally Posted by americanexpat View Post
    Going to suck adding contacts..
    Why? When you add a new contact it will ask what account to place it under.

  9. #8
    Senior Member americanexpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by Backnblack View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by americanexpat View Post
    Going to suck adding contacts..
    Why? When you add a new contact it will ask what account to place it under.

    Because without an account you can't add a contact and you have to remember which account your contacts are setup to sync with.

  10. #9
    Senior Member americanexpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by soongteck View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Alexpeegs View Post
    If it is set primary does that mean it is set primary in the gmail app.
    I'm try to set a application buying account for the market but i don't want to use it for email uses. I don't want to screw up and buy an app with my account that isn't for buying apps.
    no no..
    you can set the account to sync or not sync (activate or deactivate) your email accounts.

    you can do like this:
    acc4apps@gmail.com as the primary account (first added account, not sync'd with google services)
    acc4mail@gmail.com added after that (sync email/contacts/calendar/etc)
    Even though your sync is off you need to choose an account to be able to add a contact.

  11. #10
    Android Jr Member Backnblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanked
    4 times
    Quote Originally Posted by americanexpat View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Backnblack View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by americanexpat View Post
    Going to suck adding contacts..
    Why? When you add a new contact it will ask what account to place it under.

    Because without an account you can't add a contact and you have to remember which account your contacts are setup to sync with.

    I have 5 different accounts, Contacts from each all show up in the contact views. Nothing to remember once you have it entered.

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum