Decided to root, advice please!

This is a discussion on Decided to root, advice please! within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; OK, cyanogen's 5 ROM looks too tasty, so I think I'm gunna have to root now I'm not a totaly computer noob, but I am ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Decided to root, advice please!

Decided to root, advice please!

OK, cyanogen's 5 ROM looks too tasty, so I think I'm gunna have to root now

I'm not a totaly computer noob, but I am new to Android, and thus a little scared about the transition.

So, can you point me to a simple clear and detailed explanation of exactly how to install a custom ROM?

I've been googling for a few hours, but all the how to's I've found are quite technical and I'm really looking for something very clear and detailed.

I'm worried about things like not having the right radio version [which I read can be a serious problem] and losing my info as I'm not sure exactly how, when or where to back up.

Any links would be much appreciated!

Thanks a lot!

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

I will be keeping an eye on this thread, because I too am being eaten up by the temptation of rooting. I watched this video and as I'm not that tech savvvy half the stuff went waaay over my head. Hope it can help you a bit. But would love it if One of you knew how to do a 'rooting for beginners guide'

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a2ERMT91w84]YouTube - Hack Google's Nexus One: From Stock to Desire[/ame]

This is the guide I used. It's VERY detailed and perfect for a first timer.

Video: How to unlock and root a Nexus One – Android and Me

It has a step by step video along with the links to everything you need. Read the guide and watch the video once before doing anything so you have a little better idea about what's going on and what to expect.

Spend some time at the XDA Developers forums. Those guys really know the ins and outs of Android.