dialing numbers link to contacts

This is a discussion on dialing numbers link to contacts within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; is there a way that when using the phone, you can use the numbers to bring up contacts alphabetically like there is on blackberry phones? ...

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: dialing numbers link to contacts

  1. #1
    Senior Member deel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    300

    dialing numbers link to contacts

    is there a way that when using the phone, you can use the numbers to bring up contacts alphabetically like there is on blackberry phones? for example, dialing 6 would bring up all the contacts that begin with M. i find that very convenient and am surprised that android doesnt have this feature

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member Bishop6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    937
    The interface and software of the Nexus, doesn't allow for that option.

  4. #3
    Senior Member deel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    300
    thanks, just curious, but do you know why it doesnt allow it or what's preventing it? it seems like it would be simple enough to employ especially since blackberry had it, and they dont seem to be the most technologically advanced.

    also, are there any apps that would allow this feature?

  5. #4
    Senior Member Bishop6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    937
    Quote Originally Posted by alphawave7 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by deel View Post
    thanks, just curious, but do you know why it doesnt allow it or what's preventing it? it seems like it would be simple enough to employ especially since blackberry had it, and they dont seem to be the most technologically advanced.

    also, are there any apps that would allow this feature?
    Voice is an advance over having to press a number, I think, which strikes me as workaround to navigate a large number of contacts.

    Agreed!! that is the way to go in the 21st century.

  6. #5
    Senior Member keyplyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    708
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop6 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by alphawave7 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by deel View Post
    thanks, just curious, but do you know why it doesnt allow it or what's preventing it? it seems like it would be simple enough to employ especially since blackberry had it, and they dont seem to be the most technologically advanced.

    also, are there any apps that would allow this feature?
    Voice is an advance over having to press a number, I think, which strikes me as workaround to navigate a large number of contacts.

    Agreed!! that is the way to go in the 21st century.
    Until thought recognition comes into vogue.

  7. #6
    Banned nexuslexus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10
    If I understood the question correctly, there is a way to do that.

    If you hold the menu button on the home screen, it brings up the keyboard. And you can begin typing the name of the contact you're looking for and it searches for that contact. You can then select it.

    For this to work, you need to make sure that contacts are searchable under Settings > Search > Searchable items

    Hope that helps!

  8. #7
    Junior Member onenexus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by deel View Post
    is there a way that when using the phone, you can use the numbers to bring up contacts alphabetically like there is on blackberry phones? for example, dialing 6 would bring up all the contacts that begin with M. i find that very convenient and am surprised that android doesnt have this feature
    Are you referring to this?

    Superdial (Free)

    I have been using this. Not slow & didn't crash.

  9. #8
    Senior Member deel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    300
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop6 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by alphawave7 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by deel View Post
    thanks, just curious, but do you know why it doesnt allow it or what's preventing it? it seems like it would be simple enough to employ especially since blackberry had it, and they dont seem to be the most technologically advanced.

    also, are there any apps that would allow this feature?
    Voice is an advance over having to press a number, I think, which strikes me as workaround to navigate a large number of contacts.

    Agreed!! that is the way to go in the 21st century.

    but have you seen how long it takes for your voice to convert? it's faster to scroll through. if google would speed that up and make it more usable, then it is a good alternative

  10. #9
    Senior Member deel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    300
    Quote Originally Posted by nexuslexus View Post
    If I understood the question correctly, there is a way to do that.

    If you hold the menu button on the home screen, it brings up the keyboard. And you can begin typing the name of the contact you're looking for and it searches for that contact. You can then select it.

    For this to work, you need to make sure that contacts are searchable under Settings > Search > Searchable items

    Hope that helps!

    yes! this helps, this was more of what i was referring too. also, the new gesture search is awesome too and what i was hoping for. now if only it would be integrated into 2.1 or the next version so a separate app is not needed

  11. #10
    Senior Member deel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    300
    Quote Originally Posted by onenexus View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by deel View Post
    is there a way that when using the phone, you can use the numbers to bring up contacts alphabetically like there is on blackberry phones? for example, dialing 6 would bring up all the contacts that begin with M. i find that very convenient and am surprised that android doesnt have this feature
    Are you referring to this?

    Superdial (Free)

    I have been using this. Not slow & didn't crash.

    and yes, superdial looks good, but the app page says that it's not being supported. i already have a bunch of apps, debating on whether to add this, especially since the other 2 apps/methods mentioned above kinda do the job i was looking for

    also, does it only use t9? or does it support a full keyboard? like do i have to type 2 for A, or can i access the keyboard and type A and all the A contacts come up?

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum