Current N1 vs Verizon/CDMA N1

This is a discussion on Current N1 vs Verizon/CDMA N1 within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; I understand there are some cellular & wireless spec differences between the N1 that will be released on the Verizon vs the current N1. If ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Current N1 vs Verizon/CDMA N1

  1. #1
    Junior Member Luxury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11

    Current N1 vs Verizon/CDMA N1

    I understand there are some cellular & wireless spec differences between the N1 that will be released on the Verizon vs the current N1.

    If Verizon's N1 is 'CDMA' (doesn't mean a lot to me), what is the current N1, and what difference does it make?

    Will I still be able to take my Verizon N1 to Europe, pop in a European SIM card and use it?

    Thanks

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    If you are already on Verizon you should know their phones don't use SIM cards.

    Just like with any phone here in US that works on Verizon, you cannot make it work on AT&T or T-Mobile.

  4. #3
    Junior Member Luxury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    Is there any way to use Verizon's N1 in Europe with a local plan?

  5. #4
    Senior Member johnny cizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    561
    Also on verizon there will be no talking plus web unless your on wifi.you can do it on gsm. I use t-mobile.
    If I had to name my greatest strength, I guess it would be my humility. Greatest weakness, it's possible that I'm a little too awesome.

  6. #5
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    There are some CDMA networks there. The preferred system would be GSM.

    You can also use your Verizon phone in Europe with some roaming charges I believe.

    I don't know why everybody is so hyped up on Verizon. If you like to travel abroad get a GSM phone.

  7. #6
    Junior Member Luxury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    Well I was waiting for Verizon because Tmobile coverage is bad in my area, and now it turns out I practically won't be able to use it in Europe, I feel kind of dumb.

  8. #7
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    Get the AT&T model. That way you get the best of both worlds. 3G coverage and ability to travel.

  9. #8
    Junior Member Luxury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    I did read some news about the N1 on AT&T, is it true that it is fully compatible with AT&T in every way now?

  10. #9
    Senior Member dixy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    288
    It's already on sale.

  11. #10
    Junior Member Luxury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    I see. $530 + AT&T subscription/prepaid is quite a price tag though..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Got a samsung vibrant on my possession
    By DF Member in forum Samsung Vibrant
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-02-2010, 12:08 PM
Android Forum