Unlocked US Nexus S in UK??

This is a discussion on Unlocked US Nexus S in UK?? within the Nexus S forums, part of the Google Phones category; Hi there, I wonder if someone can help me. I'm going to the US to visit the in-laws for xmas and to reward myself for ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unlocked US Nexus S in UK??

  1. #1
    Junior Member auxelf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Unlocked US Nexus S in UK??

    Hi there, I wonder if someone can help me.

    I'm going to the US to visit the in-laws for xmas and to reward myself for going through such an experience, I would like to buy myself an unlocked Nexus S while I am there.

    My question is if I bring back the phone, would I be able to use it on UK networks like O2 with their simplicity tariff. Is it simply popping in the sim card and everything would work?

    Thanks!

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Android Lurker Floogle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    In a nutshell, yes. It is an unlocked phone so you can put any sim card in and it will operate on that network provider.

    If you experience any problems connecting to the internet, just ask o2 to send you the internet settings by text.

    Let us know your thoughts on it, maybe some screenshots too!

  4. #3
    Administrator WERA689's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    2,418
    Thanked
    55 times
    Again, just be sure that the radio frequencies are compatible with the provider you're going to use when you get back.

  5. #4
    Junior Member kalimero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    If NexusS resembles NexusOne will comptatible for virtually every country in the world

  6. #5
    Administrator WERA689's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    2,418
    Thanked
    55 times
    Not strictly true, kalimero. Here, there are two distinctly different versions, that look exactly alike! One is compatible with ATT's frequencies for 3G, and only works on TMobile's 2G freq's. And vice-versa. And, of course, no Nexus One works on Verizon's network...

  7. #6
    Android Lurker DudeRandom21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    0
    Yes but just because you don`t get 3G doesn`t mean itís not compatible (well at least I hope not cause I have a t-mo version on Fido) so he was somewhat right. Although I never got the no Verizon thing Why didn`t they make a version for them. And while I`m at it I`m in Canada so I don`t know but are one of the two available versions of the nexus one compatible with sprint?

  8. #7
    Administrator WERA689's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    2,418
    Thanked
    55 times
    Nope. Sprint and Verizon use a different technology altogether...their devices don't use a SIM card at all. Also, the CDMA tech that they use can't do voice and data simultaneously, either. GSM does. (Which means ATT and TMo).


    Oh, and Verizon and Sprint dropped their plans for the Nexus One at the last minute. VZW recommended the Incredible for those that were waiting for the N1; and Sprint pointed them towards the...well....I don't remember...

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum