Nexus S Only edge access No 3G

This is a discussion on Nexus S Only edge access No 3G within the Nexus S forums, part of the Google Phones category; I notice on Nexus S that there is only acces to edge when you use another carrier than Tmobile. Its this normal? Are there any ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Nexus S Only edge access No 3G

  1. #1
    Junior Member lacsat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    9

    Nexus S Only edge access No 3G

    I notice on Nexus S that there is only acces to edge when you use another carrier than Tmobile. Its this normal? Are there any way to change that??

    Thanks

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member johnny cizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    561
    Simply put. there is nothing You can do. It is normal. Its a hardware issue
    If I had to name my greatest strength, I guess it would be my humility. Greatest weakness, it's possible that I'm a little too awesome.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Syntax323's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    230
    Wouldn't call it hardware issue, as this isn't an issue...

    More like a restriction.
    [ROM] Cyanogen 7 Nightly's - I've accepted that I crackflash, no rehab center is open yet... -
    [Radio]Korean Radio 5.08.00.04
    I've tried Nexus S, MT4G, and G2, and I just can't find a phone that surpasses the Nexus One. Hard to believe this came out almost a year ago and it's still top of the line. :nexusx:

  5. #4
    Senior Member davidalow44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    125
    What these folks are saying is that the Nexus S does not have the hardware that supports all the 3G bands in worldwide use. As with the Nexus One, the first version of the USA Nexus S supports only T-Mobile USA 3G. The USA N1 later came out with a version that supports AT&T 3G. This may happen with the NS.

    I believe that there is circuitry available that would enable a phone to support most, if not all, 3G bands, and I think it's myopic for Google not to have included it in the Nexus S. It's a deal-breaker for me.

  6. #5
    Junior Member lacsat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    9
    I agree, it doesnt make scence to announce an unlocked phone when there is a restriction.

    But at the same time I heard that the same happen on another previous model not the nexus but another HTC I think and some hackers find the way to open the phone and they enable the 3G support. So probably is not on the hardware, maybe is a software thing.

  7. #6
    Junior Member spitfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    20
    im pretty sure its hardware related.

  8. #7
    Android Lurker DudeRandom21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    0
    I know for a fact that it is hardware related it's because the antenna that is inside does not receive the 3G frequency band that is projected by the at&t towers just the t-mobile ones and the wind mobile ones here in Canada.

  9. #8
    Junior Member lacsat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    9
    But I thought it has support to 3G here is the Phone network info:

    2.5G (GSM/ GPRS/ EDGE) : 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 MHz

    3G (HSDPA 7.2Mbps, HSUPA 5.76Mbps) : 900 / 1700 / 2100 MHz

    Check this!!

    GSM World Coverage Map- GSM Country List by frequency bands

  10. #9
    Junior Member blaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    3G (HSDPA 7.2Mbps, HSUPA 5.76Mbps) : 900 / 1700 / 2100 MHz
    900/2100 is used in Europe, 1700 is used on T-Mobile in the US. AT&T in the US uses 850/1900, which is not supported.

  11. #10
    Junior Member alank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    8
    Nexus S is compatible on the 3G networks of most carriers in the world. AT&T's 3G network is one of the few in the world that the Nexus S does not support.

    So I would say this is more AT&T's fault and not Google's fault

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Text to Talk
    By DF Member in forum Samsung Vibrant
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 02:11 AM

Search tags for this page

android only on edge no 3g

,

galaxy nexus edge only

,

net 10 no 3g nexus s

,

net10 edge no 3g on droid

,

nexus s 3g edge

,

nexus s edge network only

,

nexus s only edge

,

nexus s only edge connection

,

nexus s only showing edge

,

nexus s only using edge

,

nexus s shows edge network

,

nexus s solo edge

,

not getting at&t 3g on nexus s

,

only edge with at&t nexus s

,

why only edge with net 10

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum