Messaging: 'Me' Contact Photo

This is a discussion on Messaging: 'Me' Contact Photo within the Nexus S forums, part of the Google Phones category; Can someone please help me with this: I recently bought a new Nexus S in America and had it shipped to Belgium (where I live ...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Messaging: 'Me' Contact Photo

  1. #11
    Junior Member Joris7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Question Difficult question

    Can someone please help me with this:

    I recently bought a new Nexus S in America and had it shipped to Belgium (where I live and using to phone now). I just can't manage to edit my "me" picture. I tried to do it using my gmail account, so I uploaded a picture for my phone number. I also tried another (older) phone and copied my number into my sim card. When I call myself, I can see the picture that I've uploaded while using my gmail account. But when i send someone a message, the "me" picture is still gray. Also my phone keeps saying that my phone number is "unknown" in settings -> about.

    Can some please help me get rid of that gray box?

    Thanks!

    BTW: I really adore the Nexus S, only this picture has to change!

  2. #12
    Senior Member Zehlek's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    263
    Just create a new contact with your phone number and select a pic

    Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk

  3. #13
    Junior Member Joris7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by Zehlek View Post
    Just create a new contact with your phone number and select a pic

    Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk
    I also tried that and nothing worked.

    I think it's because my phone doens't recognize my number?

    Please help!

  4. #14
    Android Lurker DudeRandom21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    0
    If your phone doesn't recognise your number then it is because it is not programmed into the sim card (as the viewable phone number not as in to receive calls to that number) to find out if this is true go to settings -> about phone -> status then look for my phone number if it has your phone number your good if not then you will have to change that number to your phone number then problem solved.

  5. #15
    Junior Member Joris7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy Doesn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by Dude Random21 View Post
    If your phone doesn't recognise your number then it is because it is not programmed into the sim card (as the viewable phone number not as in to receive calls to that number) to find out if this is true go to settings -> about phone -> status then look for my phone number if it has your phone number your good if not then you will have to change that number to your phone number then problem solved.
    Yes I know, when I go to settings -> about -> phone it says "unkown". I just can't get my phone number there. I allready tried to do this using gmail and another phone (creating a new contact on the sim).

    That gray box is driving me crazy!

  6. #16
    Senior Member Iggy82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by Joris7 View Post

    Yes I know, when I go to settings -> about -> phone it says "unkown". I just can't get my phone number there. I allready tried to do this using gmail and another phone (creating a new contact on the sim).

    That gray box is driving me crazy!
    Adding a new contact to your SIM with another phone will not work. You need to use another phone which has the ability to program the your phone number which is totally different to a contact. It's a different part of the SIM memory which stores your phone number, which is only editable with some phones.

    You can use mostly old phones like a Sony Ericsson T630 to do this. I have one for sale in UK that I can sell for 10 inc. postage, thats how much I bought it for on eBay to do this fix myself.
    Nothing is perfect, but we must not lose faith in perfection. If we did, everything would be a whole lot worse than it is now!

  7. #17
    Junior Member Joris7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by Iggy82 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Joris7 View Post

    Yes I know, when I go to settings -> about -> phone it says "unkown". I just can't get my phone number there. I allready tried to do this using gmail and another phone (creating a new contact on the sim).

    That gray box is driving me crazy!
    Adding a new contact to your SIM with another phone will not work. You need to use another phone which has the ability to program the your phone number which is totally different to a contact. It's a different part of the SIM memory which stores your phone number, which is only editable with some phones.

    You can use mostly old phones like a Sony Ericsson T630 to do this. I have one for sale in UK that I can sell for 10 inc. postage, thats how much I bought it for on eBay to do this fix myself.
    Oh ok thanks for the information. I have an old samsung E900. I programmed my number under "contact" -> "own numbers" -> "phone number". When i put my SIM back in my nexus s, it still says "unknown" under phone number (about -> phone). Did i do something wrong or isn't that what you mean by programming it on my SIM card?

    Thank!

  8. #18
    Senior Member Zehlek's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    263
    My Nexus S shows my number under settings/about phone

    Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk

  9. #19
    Senior Member Iggy82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by Joris7 View Post

    Oh ok thanks for the information. I have an old samsung E900. I programmed my number under "contact" -> "own numbers" -> "phone number". When i put my SIM back in my nexus s, it still says "unknown" under phone number (about -> phone). Did i do something wrong or isn't that what you mean by programming it on my SIM card?

    Thank!
    Sounds like you did the right sort of thing but some phones don't actual re-program the SIM card, they just use it on their own internal memory. This is probably the case with your Samsung unfortunately.

    You must also make sure that you program it in the correct format. The correct format is:

    +CC1234567890

    Where CC = country code

    For example, take this UK mobile number

    Country Code = 0044
    Mobile Number = 01234 567890
    Correct Format = +441234567890 (This is what you program to phone)

    For USA, Country Code is 001, so it would +1, then add your mobile number except don't use the first zero
    Nothing is perfect, but we must not lose faith in perfection. If we did, everything would be a whole lot worse than it is now!

  10. #20
    Junior Member Joris7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Iggy82 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Joris7 View Post

    Oh ok thanks for the information. I have an old samsung E900. I programmed my number under "contact" -> "own numbers" -> "phone number". When i put my SIM back in my nexus s, it still says "unknown" under phone number (about -> phone). Did i do something wrong or isn't that what you mean by programming it on my SIM card?

    Thank!
    Sounds like you did the right sort of thing but some phones don't actual re-program the SIM card, they just use it on their own internal memory. This is probably the case with your Samsung unfortunately.

    You must also make sure that you program it in the correct format. The correct format is:

    +CC1234567890

    Where CC = country code

    For example, take this UK mobile number

    Country Code = 0044
    Mobile Number = 01234 567890
    Correct Format = +441234567890 (This is what you program to phone)

    For USA, Country Code is 001, so it would +1, then add your mobile number except don't use the first zero
    Ok thanks for your fast reply

    I gave my number in like you said, country code in belgium = 0032 -> +32.
    Well like you said, the problem will probably be my old samsung E900.

    Can you recommand some phones that can program my number into my SIM card?

    Thanks for all your help!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android 2.3 messaging picture me
,
changing your handcent picture
,
cyanogenmod sms me picture
,
handcent my profile picture
,
handcent my profile picture samsung galaxy note 2
,

handcent self picture

,
how add ownwer pictures to handcent sms
,

how do i change my picture on handcent

,
how do i set a picture for myself on android
,
how do set a picture for a contact text using handcent on sansung galaxy
,
how to add picture to handcent
,
how to change my contact picture on handcent
,
how to put a picture on android messaging
,
how you put picture on handscent text me conact
,
messaging me display picture android
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum