I'm new to Smartphones and Android, questions on using BB Nexus S in Germany

This is a discussion on I'm new to Smartphones and Android, questions on using BB Nexus S in Germany within the Nexus S forums, part of the Google Phones category; Hi everyone I just found out about the Nexus S, I'm on vacation in the USA, and it sounds great! I think i might buy ...

Thread: I'm new to Smartphones and Android, questions on using BB Nexus S in Germany

I'm new to Smartphones and Android, questions on using BB Nexus S in Germany

Hi everyone

I just found out about the Nexus S, I'm on vacation in the USA, and it sounds great!

I think i might buy it, there are just some questions i have before i can make that decision, i hope u can help me, that would be appreciated very much

Here are my questions (sorry, I really don't know anything about these issues, I'm a noob :D):

1. I have already found out that i can change the system's language to "german". However, i don't know if this also affects the virtual onscreen keyboard, which by default is a qwerty of course. Is it possible to change it to a german qwertz keyboard, with special letters like the german ""? Maybe this is already accomplished by changing the system's language to german, i don't know. Does it have a german dictionary?

2. Along the same line as the first, i've noticed that the Apps preinstalled on the phone retain their english names when language is changed. Will these apps remain english (not a big deal to me)? And furthermore, will they by any chance be limited to US-specific uses, for example a google maps utility not working in germany, or anything else that might work differently or not at all in germany (bigger deal to me). Will there be any such problem with downloaded apps?