Maintaining a Rooted Nexus S

This is a discussion on Maintaining a Rooted Nexus S within the Nexus S forums, part of the Google Phones category; I rooted the my Nexus S when I first got it mostly so I could replace all of the /System/Media files with my own. Then ...

Thread: Maintaining a Rooted Nexus S

Maintaining a Rooted Nexus S

I rooted the my Nexus S when I first got it mostly so I could replace all of the /System/Media files with my own. Then I took the chance of installing the pushed update about a month ago and utilities like Root-Explorer can no longer get root level access.

I am not a big expert . . It took me several hours to get the phone rooted the first time but now I am wondering if owners of rooted phones have to install updated root images to keep up with major updates or upgrades.

Can I just leave the phone as is and not have problems with future pushed updates, or do I need to do something to accept future updates and upgrades from Google without risking a dead phone?

I don't really need root anymore, but would like to be able to accept future upgrades and keep my own /system/media files.

Where to from here . Do nothing or install a new rooted image ? Are new rooted images available following each update from Google ?

I hope my questions make sense . . I am used to disk imaging windows servers and don't know if an "image" of a phone is a similar thing.

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Quote Originally Posted by swbca View Post
    I rooted the my Nexus S when I first got it mostly so I could replace all of the /System/Media files with my own. Then I took the chance of installing the pushed update about a month ago and utilities like Root-Explorer can no longer get root level access.