cant root nexus s!!!

This is a discussion on cant root nexus s!!! within the Nexus S forums, part of the Google Phones category; ok so i have tried most methods i have found and nothing. cant seem to figure out how the heck this is suposed to be ...

Thread: cant root nexus s!!!

cant root nexus s!!!

ok so i have tried most methods i have found and nothing. cant seem to figure out how the heck this is suposed to be done. i first tried the guide on cyanogen to root my phone but, after installing everything on both my windows pc and mac i get to the run "fastboot oem unlock"... and then a hole bunch of nothing happens.

yes i am a noob at this. but i mean, this phone was suposed to be a easy unlock but the unrevoked method for my buddys htc desire is putting the nexus to shame. i have spent the last 4 hours trying cause nothing i try works.

i am on 2.3.3.

if any one has any idea how to do this please help. it just seems like the pc is waiting for device, but i have the sdk, java, eclipse and adt plug in all installed. so seems like both on the pc and mac the nexus is not connecting. oh yeah and usb debug is on.

edit. device manager in windows shows the nexus s but with a yellow "!"

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

You don't need the SDK, Java, or Eclipse, you just need the drivers and the fastboot binary...

Make sure you connect the phone while it is in the fastboot screen. If the driver still shows a yellow exclamation, update the driver (since you have the SDK, it should be located in the Drivers folder in your SDK folder).

Once you've got the drivers correctly installed, connect via fastboot (type "fastboot devices", which will confirm connection - you should get a device ID number displayed). You can then type "fastboot oem unlock"...

If you can describe any specific errors, it will help us help you... xD

Quote Originally Posted by danger-rat View Post