Google GPS down

This is a discussion on Google GPS down within the Nexus S forums, part of the Google Phones category; I was at my local Sprint store this morning asking them why my GPS did not work and they told me Google GPS was down. ...

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Google GPS down

  1. #1
    Junior Member xbxb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    8

    Google GPS down

    I was at my local Sprint store this morning asking them why my GPS did not work and they told me Google GPS was down. Anyone else having this trouble

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    GPS works from satellites, not Google. It should still work without a data connection...

  4. #3
    Administrator WERA689's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    2,418
    Thanked
    55 times
    The GPS part will, but the maps need a data connection from Google. At least if you're using Google's Nav app. Some of the 3rd party GPS apps will cache maps.

  5. #4
    Junior Member xbxb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    8
    A couple of days ago several of my relatives got together. We had several droid phones on the table. One from Verizon, one from Sprint (nexus s), and one from Att. We all have google nav on our phones and none of them gave voice commands but did show maps. All 3 phones constantly said searching for gps. That is all I have found out at this time. Any response from all of you?

  6. #5
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Now you're talking about Nav, which is from Google - that is very different from GPS...

    If you can't connect to Nav, then yes, that could be because the service is down on Google's end.

    If you can't get a GPS lock, that is either because of something faulty on your phone, or because your phone can't see a satellite (possibly due to weather, buildings, etc).

    Then there's aGPS, which works on network positioning (which may be tied to Google), but even aGPS is down, the GPS should still be working independant of Google...

  7. #6
    Junior Member xbxb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by xbxb View Post
    A couple of days ago several of my relatives got together. We had several droid phones on the table. One from Verizon, one from Sprint (nexus s), and one from Att. We all have google nav on our phones and none of them gave voice commands but did show maps. All 3 phones constantly said searching for gps. That is all I have found out at this time. Any response from all of you?
    I should have said it was Google Nav in my first post instead of GPS, my fault. I have since talked to other individuals who have said they have seen this problem in the past. If it is a continuing problem with Google I don't feel comfortable traveling with my phone and relying on it for my gps when I get to a different town. Looks like I will still haul my Tom Tom around just in case Google Nav is down. I thought Google Nav was a little more reliable.

  8. #7
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Yeah, it is very dependant on both Google and a data signal. I keep a copy of CoPilot handy, because it is a stand alone Nav app, which doesn't require external data. I can't rely on a data connection when on mountain passes, or when out in the sticks, etc.

    CoPilot was pretty reasonably priced for the US, though I've no idea what the price is now (very expensive for Europe though, so I decided to risk it with Google)...

  9. #8
    Junior Member xbxb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    8
    Just took a look at co-pilot. It costs 4-5 bucks and takes a little over 2gb so that might work. Thanks very much very nice of you to offer suggestions.

  10. #9
    Junior Member xbxb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    8
    Google NAV is kaput again. Very unreliable and has happened several times the past couple of months

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum