Nexus S - a few questions

This is a discussion on Nexus S - a few questions within the Nexus S forums, part of the Google Phones category; Hi there, I'm new I'm thinking about investing in my first smart phone, with a giffgaff SIM card which I'll top up 10 a month ...

Thread: Nexus S - a few questions

Nexus S - a few questions

Hi there, I'm new

I'm thinking about investing in my first smart phone, with a giffgaff SIM card which I'll top up 10 a month to get unlimited texts & web.

So far I've been looking around and the Nexus S seems to be one of the best phones on the market right now.

I've found one for 200, used but in perfect condition.

Obviously I'm a bit of a noob, but the price seems great.

The phone has been rooted though - I am aware this will have voided the warranty but is there anything I should know about it?

- Does 'rooting' remove any features or handicap the phone in any way?
    - Can 'rooting' be reversed?
    - What are the advantages of a 'rooted' Nexus S
    - Do you think 200 is a good price, or will that be standard soon?
    - Would you recommend the phone as my first smart phone?

Thanks guys. Look forward to hearing your answers

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Yes I believe the nexus S is a good smartphone and would be fine as a first phone.

Now rooting rooting is hacking so you can mod the original software provided with the phone. This means you can flash custom ROMs to the phone these are modded versions of android. There is allot you can learn about rooting and the possibilities are endless once you have root access. Now yes rooting can be undone and you can actually relock the bootloader which makes it like if you never rooted so you still have your warranty although you will need to execute a few fastboot commands and set up the drivers on your computer so it's not a one step process but if you just want to unroot then it's not that complicated.