Nexus S lost carrier connection after idling overnight…

This is a discussion on Nexus S lost carrier connection after idling overnight… within the Nexus S forums, part of the Google Phones category; Hi everyone, Newbie here, got my phone a month ago. Everything seem fine except I have been having issue with carrier network reception where my ...

Thread: Nexus S lost carrier connection after idling overnight…

Nexus S lost carrier connection after idling overnight…

Hi everyone,

Newbie here, got my phone a month ago. Everything seem fine except I have been having issue with carrier network reception where my wife’s HTC Panache would have signal but my Nexus S would be in emergency call only mode. Sometime doing a mobile network scan and re-register would fix it but mostly not, remove battery and reboot would be my next/only option. As well, when the phone goes idle overnight, some morning it would lost signal and stay that way even on my way to work where I know there are full 3G signal. Just like this morning, I had to go into airplane mode (turn off the antenna) and go back to normal mode before the phone will get signal again.

FYI...
    Firmware v2.3.4.
    Build #: GRJ22

Anyone knows what to do with this issue?

Thanks!

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Quote Originally Posted by CmdrData View Post
    Hi everyone,
    , when the phone goes idle overnight, some morning it would lost signal and stay that way even on my way to work where I know there are full 3G signal
    I have similar experiences with my Nexus S. It is worse than the Nexus One.

Sometimes going to airplane mode and back helps. Sometimes not.

If I turn on WiFi, then walk out of the signal, I have to turn off WiFi, then cycle power.

I heard there was an update to non-US phones, but that it was even buggier.