a question for computer geeks ;)

This is a discussion on a question for computer geeks ;) within the Off-Topic Forum forums, part of the Off-Topic Area category; ok, i play online quite a lot on my PS3 (when i'm not on my Nexus One). So, when i'm *LEGALLY* :-P downloading a movie/album ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: a question for computer geeks ;)

a question for computer geeks ;)

ok, i play online quite a lot on my PS3 (when i'm not on my Nexus One). So, when i'm *LEGALLY* :-P downloading a movie/album off the internet the game lags like hell, what is causing that? is it the router or is it just the top-speed of the cable connection?
    M_Woody's wallpaper pack.

I am a freelance/self-employed graphics designer, please take a look at my website www.m-woody.co.nr

200th post - 6th April, 2010.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Unless you have QoS running, I am betting you are just taking too much bandwidth from the game.

Quality of Service - most routers have it. You can place allowances for different devices, by time and or Bandwidth.

ok... does it have any other names? i can't find QoS...

I am a freelance/self-employed graphics designer, please take a look at my website www.m-woody.co.nr

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Admin
    Only high end routers seem to have QoS built in, what you can sometimes do on your PC is tell whatever program you use for downloading to limit the bandwidth upload/download to whatever seems to not cause you lag.

What program are you using for downloading?

Quote Originally Posted by Admin View Post
    Only high end routers seem to have QoS built in, what you can sometimes do on your PC is tell whatever program you use for downloading to limit the bandwidth upload/download to whatever seems to not cause you lag.

What program are you using for downloading?