Factory Reset

This is a discussion on Factory Reset within the Rescue Squad General forums, part of the Android Rescue Squad Support Forum category; I don't have to re-activate the phone after a factory reset do i?...

Results 1 to 5 of 5
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By RobKort

Thread: Factory Reset

  1. #1
    Android Jr Member Venez68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jersey Shore
    Posts
    46

    Factory Reset

    I don't have to re-activate the phone after a factory reset do i?
    "STAY THIRSTY MY FRIENDS"

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RobKort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    630
    Thanked
    75 times
    Nope, it should be fine.

    -end of line-



  4. #3
    Android Jr Member Venez68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jersey Shore
    Posts
    46
    Thank you.
    One more question maybe you can help me with.
    My carrier is Verizon and when i log into My Verizon wireless account and click on the device tab it brings up the following:

    Device Actions

    Unlock Sim (PUK) now

    I thought my card was unlocked when i activated the phone?
    "STAY THIRSTY MY FRIENDS"

  5. #4
    Super Moderator RobKort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    630
    Thanked
    75 times
    No, what I "presume" they are referring to is to unlock the SIM card from your carrier. Carrier phones come locked to that specific carrier and cannot be used with other carriers. To unlock it, you can either call the carrier if you want to use the phone with say AT&T, or you can go to a website and pay a small few for an unlock code. The code you are given is then entered in the device making it possible to be use with other carriers.

    Of course there is other things to consider when unlocking a phone. Before you do you need to make sure the phone will work with that carrier's radio band. As you might have a LET spectrum on both carriers but different frequencies making the phone unuseable or crippled to certain speeds that you will normally see on the phone's designated carrier. There is also the possibility that the phone was built specifically for GSM, WIMAX , or HDPA+ which are different spectrums. Most phone now a days come with dual or quad bands, but you need to know what frequency will it work on before making the jump and make sure it is compatible.

    -end of line-
    UltraDroid and cd_fifty_6 like this.



  6. #5
    Android Jr Member mamawm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    mississippi
    Posts
    63
    Thanked
    14 times
    i think verizon allows for sim unlocking so that phone can be used when traveling to europe.

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Factory reset
    By ipodeater in forum Android Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-31-2012, 11:27 AM
  2. Factory Reset x2?
    By Bridgett30 in forum LG Ally Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2011, 10:29 AM
  3. Factory Reset before Froyo??
    By marioval in forum LG Ally
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 08:50 AM
  4. help with a factory reset please
    By dpacski in forum LG Ally Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-06-2010, 12:26 PM
  5. Rooted SW V8 won't factory reset
    By blackmetalbuick in forum LG Ally Hacking / Development
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 09:15 AM

Search tags for this page

activate verizon s3 phone after factory reset

,

android bml model 19505 how to hard reset

,

bml 19505 hard reset

,

bml hard reset 19505

,

bml i9505 hard reset

,
factorie reset verizon cell phone now says i need a sim card
,
factory reset android bml 19505
,
factory reset bml i9505
,

hard reset bml i9505

,

hard reset bml model19505

,

hard reset bml phone

,

how to unlock n reactivate a factory restored android verizon phone

,

hw to reset bml

,

sim puk verizon lg spectrum

,

will i have to reactivate my android phone after a fdr?

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum