Captivate Root

This is a discussion on Captivate Root within the Samsung Captivate Hacking forums, part of the Samsung Captivate category; Has anyone experienced the camara failing to load after rooting?...

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 81

Thread: Captivate Root

  1. #11
    Junior Member jbird80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Has anyone experienced the camara failing to load after rooting?

  2. #12
    Moderator moosefist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by Yzlvr View Post
    Is there a way to put it back to stock if I try this? In case I end up returning it before my 30 day trial period is up? That would be great.

    I too would like to try the stock android home pages....
    If you return it, I wouldn't worry about unrooting it. A sales rep will not know the difference.

    There is going to be no way to try the stock home launcher since it is not available from the market. Your best be is to try a modified version like ADW (my fav) or Launcher Pro (now with awesome widgets).

  3. #13
    Moderator moosefist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by jbird80 View Post
    Has anyone experienced the camara failing to load after rooting?
    Mine works great. Have you tried rebooting at all? If that doesn't work, have you made any modifications to your system besides root?

  4. #14
    Junior Member jbird80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by moosefist View Post
    Mine works great. Have you tried rebooting at all? If that doesn't work, have you made any modifications to your system besides root?
    Yes, I did try rebooting, but it turned out to be another application that was casing the camera to crash. Not rooting the phone.

  5. #15
    Junior Member unleashedvigilante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    14
    jbird80 - would you mind telling us what app caused it? Just in case someone else runs into the same issue. Thanks
    And moosefist, a belated but much appreciated thanks for the rooting instructions.

  6. #16
    Junior Member mak876's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    If I root my device is that the same as installing a rom? Will this remove all the att Branded applications?

  7. #17
    WERA689
    Guest WERA689's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mak876 View Post
    If I root my device is that the same as installing a rom? Will this remove all the att Branded applications?
    NOT the same as installing a ROM, but necessary in order TO install a ROM. It should give you the OPTION to remove ATT apps, but shouldn't automatically do so.

  8. #18
    Junior Member jbird80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    I'm not 100% sure since I used Advanced Task Killer to kill most of the open applications, but i do remember seeing the following applications open antivirus, Drivesafe.ly, Pandora, and Google Talk.

    Jason

  9. #19
    Junior Member cuddles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    29
    are there any roms out yet??

    thanks.

  10. #20
    Junior Member unleashedvigilante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    14
    @mak876: once you have it rooted, see the thread called Remove ATT Bloatware in this forum (still under Captivate Hacking)

    @jbird80: thanks

    @cuddles: Since the Captivate is the first Galaxy S in the states, you will have to wait a little longer but probably not much....

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. My new fone
    By DF Member in forum HTC Desire
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 06:10 AM

Search tags for this page

can i root my i897 without a computer
,
captivate eclair recovery without computer
,

captivate root

,

captivate root update zip

,

captivate root update.zip

,
captivate update.zip
,
how do i root my at&t galaxy s captivate
,
how to root sgh-i897
,
root captivate at&t update.zip no computer
,
root samsung captivate without computer
,
root samsung galaxy s captivate without computer
,
rooting a captivate without a computer
,

rooting at&t captivate without computer

,
samsung captivate root update.zip
,
superuser captivate
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum