Captivate Root

This is a discussion on Captivate Root within the Samsung Captivate Hacking forums, part of the Samsung Captivate category; This thread will be dedicated for all Samsung Captivate Root discussions. Originally Posted by moosefist ***IMPORTANT: YOU PERFORM THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK, THIS MAY ...

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 81

Thread: Captivate Root

  1. #1
    dandroid
    Guest dandroid's Avatar

    Captivate Root

    This thread will be dedicated for all Samsung Captivate Root discussions.

    Quote Originally Posted by moosefist View Post
    ***IMPORTANT: YOU PERFORM THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK, THIS MAY VOID YOUR WARRANTY, I NOR ANYONE ELSE IS RESPONSIBLE IF YOU BRICK YOUR DEVICE.***

    ***CONFIRMED 100% WORKING ON AT&T CAPTIVATE BY MOOSEFIST***

    The following method should be relatively care-free but there is always a risk with activities like rooting a device or flashing a new firmware.

    1. Download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/178498/SGH-I...t%20Update.zip and rename to: update.zip
    2. On your device, navigate to Settings > Applications > USB settings and select Mass storage
    3. Plug your device into your computer, select mount USB from your device's pull-down window
    4. Copy the update.zip to the INTERNAL SD memory (~14gb on this drive, not the one w/ Avatar if you've still got the 2gb SD card in)
    5. Turn your phone off.
    6. Hold down volume up and volume down while powering on the phone, this should get you to a recovery menu, you may have to try this a few times.
    7. In Recovery menu select 'Reinstall Packages' (use vol_down then power to select)

    Phone will reboot and you have:
    1. su+Superuser
    2. busybox (/system/xbin/busybox)

    Original credit goes to LeshaK at Samdroid.

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Google Advertisement
    Android.net is the premier Android Forum on the internet.


  3. #2
    Senior Member Joe Coolcool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    408
    I heard that the Captivate can be rooted the same way that the Galaxy S in other countries was rooted because they have the same hardware. Android and Me is where I heard this from.
    Credit goes to ee0r.com for my avatar.

  4. #3
    Moderator moosefist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    121
    ***IMPORTANT: YOU PERFORM THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK, THIS MAY VOID YOUR WARRANTY, I NOR ANYONE ELSE IS RESPONSIBLE IF YOU BRICK YOUR DEVICE.***

    ***CONFIRMED 100% WORKING ON AT&T CAPTIVATE BY MYSELF***

    The following method should be relatively care-free but there is always a risk with activities like rooting a device or flashing a new firmware.

    1. Download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/178498/SGH-I...t%20Update.zip and rename to: update.zip
    2. On your device, navigate to Settings > Applications > USB settings and select Mass storage
    3. Plug your device into your computer, select mount USB from your device's pull-down window
    4. Copy the update.zip to the INTERNAL SD memory (~14gb on this drive, not the one w/ Avatar if you've still got the 2gb SD card in)
    5. Turn your phone off.
    6. Hold down volume up and volume down while powering on the phone, this should get you to a recovery menu, you may have to try this a few times.
    7. In Recovery menu select 'Reinstall Packages' (use vol_down then power to select)

    Phone will reboot
    and you have
    1. su+Superuser
    2. busybox (/system/xbin/busybox)

    Original credit goes to LeshaK at Samdroid.

  5. #4
    Junior Member techfiend4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    10
    has anyone else done this yet? i know its early but no harm in checking

  6. #5
    Senior Member Joe Coolcool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    408
    I've seen other ways to root it, but I'm not saying that this way wrong either.
    Credit goes to ee0r.com for my avatar.

  7. #6
    Junior Member techfiend4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    10
    nevermind works perfect, but i had to put it on media player to access the storage

  8. #7
    Junior Member airjordan_attdroids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    chicago land
    Posts
    10

    perfect

    works great on my captivate

  9. #8
    Junior Member sn1per's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    14
    Worked on my Captivate as well. Any guesses on when we'll see a Captivate running stock Android? I'm not a huge fan of samsung's custom UI...

  10. #9
    Moderator moosefist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by sn1per View Post
    Worked on my Captivate as well. Any guesses on when we'll see a Captivate running stock Android? I'm not a huge fan of samsung's custom UI...
    Try ADW launcher...

  11. #10
    Junior Member Yzlvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Is there a way to put it back to stock if I try this? In case I end up returning it before my 30 day trial period is up? That would be great.

    I too would like to try the stock android home pages....

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. My new fone
    By DF Member in forum HTC Desire
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 06:10 AM

Search tags for this page

can i root my i897 without a computer
,
captivate eclair recovery without computer
,

captivate root

,
captivate root update download
,

captivate root update zip

,

captivate root update.zip

,

captivate update.zip

,
how do i root my at&t galaxy s captivate
,

how to root sgh-i897

,
root samsung captivate without computer
,

root samsung galaxy s captivate without computer

,

rooting a captivate without a computer

,

rooting at&t captivate without computer

,

superuser captivate

,
unroot - root explorer samsung
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum