For those that are running 2.2 (froyo) on captivate. Here's how to root.

This is a discussion on For those that are running 2.2 (froyo) on captivate. Here's how to root. within the Samsung Captivate Hacking forums, part of the Samsung Captivate category; So here's the deal. If you decide to upgrade to the unofficial 2.2 on your captivate then it will unroot your phone. Good news is ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: For those that are running 2.2 (froyo) on captivate. Here's how to root.

  1. #1
    Junior Member micah_attdroids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9

    Talking For those that are running 2.2 (froyo) on captivate. Here's how to root.

    So here's the deal. If you decide to upgrade to the unofficial 2.2 on your captivate then it will unroot your phone. Good news is that I found an easy way to root it, thanks to the xda developers. They have created a way to one click root and one click enable 3rd party apps. If you would like to uncripple your new 2.2 captivate then go here:

    [APP]SuperOneClick v1.5 (Root, Unroot, Enable Non-Market App, Get UNLOCK code) - xda-developers

    This is super easy to do and it works very well. If you have any problems with it then send me a pm and I will try to answer the questions to the best of my knowledge.

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Junior Member hurstrescue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16
    I had bad luck with it. Everything seems good, until I noticed my wifi was unable to obtain an IP address and would never work. I reloaded froyo, just to make sure wifi was working - and it was. Tried superoneclick again, and same thing. Hopefully it was just mine, as it looks like many others have had good luck with it.

  4. #3
    Junior Member micah_attdroids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by hurstrescue View Post
    I had bad luck with it. Everything seems good, until I noticed my wifi was unable to obtain an IP address and would never work. I reloaded froyo, just to make sure wifi was working - and it was. Tried superoneclick again, and same thing. Hopefully it was just mine, as it looks like many others have had good luck with it.
    So you lost your ability to get on wifi after rooting or after installing 2.2?

  5. #4
    Junior Member hurstrescue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16
    Well, I thought for sure it was after the root. But it actually seems to be due to Froyo. It worked right after the load, but the next day I turned wifi off, and when I turned it back on, it will not connect.

  6. #5
    Junior Member micah_attdroids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by hurstrescue View Post
    Well, I thought for sure it was after the root. 2 But it actually seems to be due to Froyo. It worked right after the load, but the next day I turned wifi off, and when I turned it back on, it will not connect.
    yeah, i have had a few problems with my notification bar and i am guessing that they are still working out a few kinks. But when I did the root, it was by far the easiest rooting process I have ever done. I hope that you can figure it out. I really hope that the official 2.2 comes out soon.

  7. #6
    Junior Member SCnovice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    I am having problems rooting my phone using the Super One Click app. I dled the app onto Windows 7, debugged, and after I plugged in my USB cable and clicked on the exe. file, my phone would just get stuck at "waiting for device". I tried using the Samsung Captivate tab AND Universal and both did not work. Could someone please help me? Thanks.

  8. #7
    Junior Member micah_attdroids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    You might need to reinstall drivers or when you plug in your phone, you have to touch mass storage on your device fore your device to fully connect to the computer

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Junior Member SCnovice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by micah View Post
    You might need to reinstall drivers or when you plug in your phone, you have to touch mass storage on your device fore your device to fully connect to the computer

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk

    Thanks for your reply, Micah. I also thought of that and changed it to mass storage and still did not work.
    Fortunately, I figured out how to root my phone. When I first dled Super One Click, I dled the newest version, 1.5, and had trouble rooting. However, when I dled version 1.4 and clicked on the Universal Tab, it worked! Not sure why it had worked, but I'm just glad that it did.

    Also, I heard that if you download the RyanZA's One Lag Fix app on your phone, there is an option to root and unroot your phone too. Not sure if it actually works but maybe someone can verify?

  10. #9
    Junior Member straw55_attdroids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    I used RyanZA's One Lag Fix and it REALLY does help on mine.

  11. #10
    Junior Member brwct08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by hurstrescue View Post
    Well, I thought for sure it was after the root. But it actually seems to be due to Froyo. It worked right after the load, but the next day I turned wifi off, and when I turned it back on, it will not connect.
    I know this is coming kinda late but I may have found a way to fix the wifi problem on my Samsung Captivate. I had zero issues on factory 2.1. I rooted the phone with the one click without a problem. I then used the one click to upgrade to 2.2. I thought all was well until I noticed that my home wifi would not connect. I noticed in settings that it kept scanning, then said "optaining IP address". It then would say "disconnected". I then could see that my network was in the list below as "disabled". I tired everything, even changing the router settings to open. I then realized it was any wifi spot. It did the same thing. I then found a fix. I used the one click for 2.2 to reinstall. I backed up my apps first and removed my sims and sd card. After it rebooted it asks if you want to:
    use 3g and wifi or just wifi. It also says you can change these settings later. I selected wifi only. I then turned on the wifi and saw my wireless router. I was able to connect without a problem. But I then had to use the one click to 2.2 again and then on boot up select 3g and wifi because I can't find it in the settings, go figure. My wifi still worked after that. That was 3 weeks ago and I just had to do it again today. I know it sounds like a pain but it worked for me twice.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

how to root samsung galaxy sgh i897 without pc
,
how to root samsung sgh i897
,
how to root samsung-sgh-i897 2.2
,

how to root samsung-sgh-i897,2.2

,
how to root sgh-i897 2.2
,
how to set samsung galaxy sigh 1897 to install third party apps
,
how to update a samsung galaxt captivate without a computer.
,
root captivate no pc
,
root froyo 2.2 no pc
,
root galaxy captivate 2.2 without computer
,
root sgh i897without pc
,

root sgh-i897 2.2

,
root sgh-i897 no computer
,
samsung sgh i897 root
,
www.samsungsgh1897market
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum