Switching from Att to T-mobile

This is a discussion on Switching from Att to T-mobile within the Samsung Captivate Hacking forums, part of the Samsung Captivate category; So recently switched my phone service over from ATT to T-mobile, and due to the programming of the phone, I'm unable to receive a 3G ...

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Switching from Att to T-mobile

  1. #1
    Junior Member aexro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Question Switching from Att to T-mobile

    So recently switched my phone service over from ATT to T-mobile, and due to the programming of the phone, I'm unable to receive a 3G signal. I was told that the reason for that is that ATT programs their 3G one way and T-mobile does it another way. According to them there's no way to get around that, but I refuse to believe that. I know that this day and age anything and everything can be accomplished if you simply search for the answers...

    Does anybody know how to convert the phone's signal reception? It would really make my day, week, or even my year.

    Thanks.

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member Johnnie5000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    131
    ATT 3g= 850mHz or 1900 mHz
    T-Mobile 3g= 1700mHz & 2100mHz

    Captivate is capable of 850/900/1900/2100.... The thing about T-mobile is you have to have both 1700 & 2100 for it to work on their 3g. No 1700mHz capabilities equals no T-Mobile 3g.

    T-Mobile USA - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Halfway down the page.

    Just out of curiosity why did you switch, considering the ATT/T-Mobile buyout thats going on:confused:
    Samsung SGH-I897 [Build 1007] - teamhacksung's ICS {Android 4.0.1}
    Asus TF101 [Build B70] - Revolver 3.9.5 {Android 3.2.1}
    HP Touchpad {WebOS 3.0.2 + CM 7.1 Alpha 3}

  4. #3
    Junior Member aexro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2
    Unlimited data usage, I figure after the buyout I will be able to retain that service

  5. #4
    Senior Member Fluffy_attdroids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    102
    After the buyout all contracts will be switched to the closest ATT offering.

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

can the samsung captivate get 3g on tmobile
,
change from att to tmobile on samsung phone
,
getting samsung captivate to run 3g on t-mobile network
,
how to get 3g with captivate on tmobile
,
no data on my phone after switching from at&t to tmobile
,
samsung a237 att how to switch to tmobile
,
samsung captivate on t mobile 3g
,
samsung captivate tmobile 3g
,
switch android phone from att to tmobile
,
switch from att to tmobile
,
switched from att to tmobile
,
switching from att to t mobile
,

switching from att to tmobile

,
switching to t moble is thire way
,

switching to tmobile from at&t

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum