how to set up email when your ISP/email server doesn't support Android?

This is a discussion on how to set up email when your ISP/email server doesn't support Android? within the Samsung Captivate Tech forums, part of the Samsung Captivate category; Anybody else have an issue with an ISP that does not have an Android platform for mobile email? I've had the Captivate for almost 2 ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how to set up email when your ISP/email server doesn't support Android?

Unhappy how to set up email when your ISP/email server doesn't support Android?

Anybody else have an issue with an ISP that does not have an Android platform for mobile email? I've had the Captivate for almost 2 weeks and this is my first smart phone so I'm new to all this. My ISP is Charter cable and I cannot get my email to work correctly on my phone. AT&T guy has tried twice to set it up. First time, no email at all. Second time, I could receive, but not send. Now I am playing with it - and using the Charter settings for "other phones" (which means anything not an i phone or bb), I can't do anything at all. If this is a hopeless task, tell me now before I waste any more time! I'll trade the Samsung in for a different phone... because I'm stuck with Charter for now! :mad:

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

@foxwood. Did you check with your email provider whether they support IMAP/POP3?? If either of these is supported you can configure your email. No such thing as Supporting android and not supporting.

Other solution is switching to any other third party email provider like hotmail, gmail yahoo etc... But this switching may not be convenient if you have used your current email for years together.