Wifi Tether App

This is a discussion on Wifi Tether App within the Samsung Captivate forums, part of the Samsung Android Phones category; Hey guys, I'm kinda new to android. I just rooted my samsung captivate and want to install the wifi tether app onto it. I have ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wifi Tether App

Wifi Tether App

Hey guys, I'm kinda new to android. I just rooted my samsung captivate and want to install the wifi tether app onto it. I have the apk file and on my phone but when I try to install it I get the "for security, your phone is set to block installation of applications not sourced in android market." I know there's a way around it, I'm just not sure how. Are there any suggestions?

Also, any other cool apps or things I can do to my phone since its' been rooted?

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Twitter
    @Dorian_At_ATT
    I'm not sure that the Captivate's stock software will support the WiFi Tether app. Try Barnacle from the market, or a Froyo leaked build that includes the WiFi AP built into the settings...

Stock Captivate will not support WI FI tether. Has to be rooted.

my phone is rooted, but still doesn't work.

Twitter
    @Dorian_At_ATT
    Quote Originally Posted by ngo09 View Post
    my phone is rooted, but still doesn't work.
    Even rooted, the Captivate doesn't support that. That app has to have a special kernel to run. Try Barnacle WiFi Tether from the market. It does the same thing.

EDIT: You may have to enable flight mode to be able to see that app in the market. Either flight mode, or temporarily remove your SIM card.

What Dorian says is correct.

Sent from my MB300 using Tapatalk
    Avatar courtesy of Elliott C. 'Eeyore' Evans

Quote Originally Posted by ngo09 View Post