Official 2.2 according to ATT, link to samsung site

This is a discussion on Official 2.2 according to ATT, link to samsung site within the Samsung Captivate forums, part of the Samsung Android Phones category; Saw this on my face book today from AT&T, I have not tried it cuz I like Dorians roms but those of you that don't ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Official 2.2 according to ATT, link to samsung site

  1. #1
    Junior Member JackJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10

    Official 2.2 according to ATT, link to samsung site

    Saw this on my face book today from AT&T, I have not tried it cuz I like Dorians roms but those of you that don't have it here is the how to link.

    How Do I Update The Software On My AT&T SGH-i897 (Captivate) Phone To Android 2.2 (Froyo) Through Kies Mini For PC?

    http://www.facebook.com/ATT/posts/10150108807728909 not sure if that link will work if you are not a fan of AT&T on FB.

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member Johnnie5000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    131
    Don't bother. Its a step backwards from Dorians or any other current rom.

  4. #3
    Senior Member cuneyyy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnnie5000 View Post
    Don't bother. Its a step backwards from Dorians or any other current rom.
    Did you try it? Is it really bad? Can you root it after update? Thanks.

  5. #4
    Junior Member JackJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10
    It may be bad (compared to Dorians') but some people don't like hacking and slashing a $500 phone so it is mainly posted for those not wanting to root or flash their device and update it normally.

  6. #5
    Senior Member cuneyyy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    143
    I am running one of Dorian's ROM. But out of curiosity, I just wanted to try the upgrade and see what happens.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator Dorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    between 850-1900MHz
    Posts
    885
    Thanked
    71 times
    Twitter
    @Dorian_At_ATT
    Quote Originally Posted by cuneyyy View Post
    I am running one of Dorian's ROM. But out of curiosity, I just wanted to try the upgrade and see what happens.
    Before you try loading the official, go back to stock 2.1 first.

    Need Assistance? Contact me at dorian@android.net

  8. #7
    Android Lurker jorj7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    5
    Too bad the Kies Mini that is on the FAQ is only for 32bit Windows. Can't use my 64bit Win 7 or Linux
    machines. Kind of strange since I have a 64bit version already on my laptop (64bit Win 7). Oh well, I'd
    have to wait anyway as my Captivate is in for repair of the dreaded "Random Shutdown Syndrome".

  9. #8
    Super Moderator Dorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    between 850-1900MHz
    Posts
    885
    Thanked
    71 times
    Twitter
    @Dorian_At_ATT
    Quote Originally Posted by jorj7 View Post
    Too bad the Kies Mini that is on the FAQ is only for 32bit Windows. Can't use my 64bit Win 7 or Linux
    machines. Kind of strange since I have a 64bit version already on my laptop (64bit Win 7). Oh well, I'd
    have to wait anyway as my Captivate is in for repair of the dreaded "Random Shutdown Syndrome".
    64-Bit Windows is backward compatible with 32-bit apps. It's 32-bit that can't run 64-bit.

    If you have 64-bit Windows, you should be able to run the 32-bit Kies without any issues.

    Need Assistance? Contact me at dorian@android.net

  10. #9
    Senior Member Johnnie5000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by Dorian View Post
    If you have 64-bit Windows, you should be able to run the 32-bit Kies without any issues.
    I've had Kies mini on my 64 bit Windows 7 Ultimate since early August. It's never crashed. It's also never been of any use whatsoever.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Johnnie5000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by cuneyyy View Post
    Did you try it? Is it really bad? Can you root it after update? Thanks.
    Just flashed it out of curiosity.
    Boot screen = same bleh AT&T3G + galaxy S splash.
    1st boot takes forever.
    Same Bubbles live wallpaper.
    Only real difference I see is a different icon in the notification bar for "USB debugging connected" and two new Apps in the launcher: "Car Home" and "Desk Home".
    Attempting to root now.. will edit once rooted.

    Firmware Version: 2.2
    Baseband version: i897uckb1
    Kernel version:2.6.32.9
    Build number: FROYO.UCKB1

    Edit: The old update.zip root does not work! Which means 1-Click Root does not work, and the AIO stickied does not work. Time for plan B...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

baseband version i897uckb1

,
download firmware uckb1 samsung sgh-i897
,

froyo uckb1

,
froyo. uckb1
,

froyo.uckb1

,
froyo.uckb1 root
,
google phone froyo.uckb1
,

i897uckb1

,
i897uckb1 kernel
,
i897uckb1 one click downloader
,

rom 2.2 i897uckb1

,
samsung captivate-uckb1 update
,
uckb1 download
,
what is usb debugging connected on samsung sgh i897 when i connect to pc
,
z4root download
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum