Sprint, Samsung halt Epic 4G's Froyo update due to data, SD card issues

This is a discussion on Sprint, Samsung halt Epic 4G's Froyo update due to data, SD card issues within the Samsung Epic 4G forums, part of the Samsung Android Phones category; Rut ro. If you've been wondering why your Sprint Epic 4G hasn't yet received the over-the-air update to Froyo , it's because Sprint and Samsung ...

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Sprint, Samsung halt Epic 4G's Froyo update due to data, SD card issues

  1. #1
    Administrator wicked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    San Jose CA.
    Posts
    3,345
    Thanked
    260 times
    Twitter
    wwickedd

    Sprint, Samsung halt Epic 4G's Froyo update due to data, SD card issues




    Rut ro. If you've been wondering why your Sprint Epic 4G hasn't yet received the over-the-air update to Froyo, it's because Sprint and Samsung have yanked it from the servers. Apparently a number of folks were having problems with data connectivity, or with the SD card -- or both. And while a hard-reset seemed to fix it, nobody wants to do that (Hi, mom!).
    So, they pulled the update. Here's the official word:
    There have been an increased number of calls into Care regarding issues with the Epic following the upgrade. As a result, the upgrade will not be pushed to more devices until a resolution for these issues is in place. The OTW update on the Samsung website will also be taken down.
    Sprint and Samsung are actively working to correct these problems and release the update to all devices.
    The issues being reported are related to data connectivity following the upgrade and SD card issues when attempting to access photos, music, etc. If you are experiencing these issues, a hard reset has been reported to resolve the problems. A hard reset will wipe out all the data on your device, so a backup should be done first.
    That's no good, and let's hope Sprint and Sammy get their ducks in a row and get the update back up, pronto.

    [Sprint]


  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Android Lurker Angered_Link's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    26
    Thanked
    5 times
    Again! (Sight) What can we do, let's wait... ~>S

    Sent from my SPH-D700 using Android.net App

  4. #3
    Super Moderator Dorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    between 850-1900MHz
    Posts
    885
    Thanked
    71 times
    Twitter
    @Dorian_At_ATT
    The Epic really is the odd child in the Galaxy S family... I kinda saw this coming. Samsung had similar issues with Bell i9000 models before they yanked their update down.

    Need Assistance? Contact me at dorian@android.net

  5. #4
    Android Lurker Cartmanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    8
    Great. I just upgraded.to this phone today. Guess I should have done my research b4 buying it.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator/RS furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Two hours north of Syracuse, NY. Yes, there IS civilization that far north.
    Posts
    3,983
    Thanked
    197 times
    Twitter
    FurryVarmint
    Samsung has had SD/data problems with every single FroYo update I've seen so far. How can they possibly be getting it this wrong this often?
    DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE
    THIS SPACE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK

  7. #6
    Super Moderator/RS SLAG IT!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Somewhere on Kamino
    Posts
    2,814
    Thanked
    84 times
    Unfortunately it has nothing to do with that. The SD card data thing is their way to cover their backsides. Samsung released Froyo for the vibrant and did not have it go over the air. The Vibrant works great with NO issues! Trust me I have two in my home and have four friends with that phone and no problems. I did however, manage to get ahold of an Epic that had received the Update before it crashed I saved the entire ROM to my PC. It appears to be the same rom that was used for the Vibrant. If that is true last time I checked CDMA and GSM were different networks and could be the reason why there is an issue. Of course I can not be 100% certain for the simple fact of the matter is I do not work for Sprint and or Samsung. I would take the bet this is why it caused problems.

  8. #7
    Android Lurker Cartmanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    8
    Just received my ota update.

    Sent from my SPH-D700 using Android.net App

  9. #8
    Android Lurker EPICcossack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2
    I never got the update and I went to update my android and it said I have the current one but I have EB13 and the newest one is EC05....anyone help me out here?

    Sent from my SPH-D700

  10. #9
    Super Moderator/RS furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Two hours north of Syracuse, NY. Yes, there IS civilization that far north.
    Posts
    3,983
    Thanked
    197 times
    Twitter
    FurryVarmint
    A rollout will take weeks to complete -- but you can see about manually updating.
    DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE
    THIS SPACE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2011, 04:20 PM
  2. Rumors Saying Froyo Coming to Sprintís Epic 4G Feb 21
    By wicked in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2011, 12:57 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 11:25 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 11:25 PM
  5. Sprint Samsung Epic 4G StudentRate Member Discount
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-11-2010, 11:15 PM

Search tags for this page

epic 4g find model code

,
epic 4g froyo
,

epic 4g model code

,
epic 4g model code sprint
,
epic model code
,
how do i find the model code for my epic
,
how to find samsung epic model code
,
model code for samsung epic
,
model code samsung epic
,
samsung epic 4g model code
,

samsung epic model code

,
sprint epic model code
,
what is my samsung epic model code
,
where do i find the model code for my epic 4g
,
wheredo i find the model code on samsng epic
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum