Wifi issue

This is a discussion on Wifi issue within the Samsung Galaxy Ace forums, part of the Samsung Android Phones category; Hello everyone, Apologies if this question has already been asked. I brought a Samsung Galaxy Ace today (My first smartphone) and connected it to the ...

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: Wifi issue

  1. #1
    Android Lurker paulbarrett1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    21

    Wifi issue

    Hello everyone,

    Apologies if this question has already been asked.

    I brought a Samsung Galaxy Ace today (My first smartphone) and connected it to the internet using my homes wifi network.

    For a while, it worked, however now it will not connect, saying "not within range" even though it is. Also, when I do connect to it, it quickly disconnects within 1-2 seconds.

    The router appears to be working fine, as it is working on other smartphones in the house, and computers too.

    I'm usually fairly good at technical stuff, but this has confused me.

    Many thanks,
    Paul

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    This sounds like a *fairly* common firmware incompatibility issue (often related to DHCP). Try applying a fixed, static IP to the phone, and I bet this fixes the issue. Cheers!
    Beauty is in the eyes of the beerholder

  4. #3
    Android Lurker paulbarrett1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    21
    Did I say I was usually technical minded.....?

  5. #4
    Android Lurker paulbarrett1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    21
    How do I do what you described?

  6. #5
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    Quote Originally Posted by paulbarrett1984 View Post
    How do I do what you described?
    It helps to know and understand your network topology. I'm a control freak, and shunned DHCP networking many years ago, in favor of manual assignment to all my devices, and only allow a DHCP server to serve any guests that come over with their phones/tabs. Routers have gotten a bit better in their firmware implementation of DHCP serving (especially wrt maintenance of routing tables and such, which helps mimic a static IP), but most homes only have a handful of devices requiring wan/lan access, and it's simple to set up a network manually. The Acer tablet line has particularly suffered from this DHCP incompatibility, so I put together a brief tutorial on the Acer forum, in this thread:
    How-To: Resolve 'Wifi Issue' With a Static IP Address
    Naturally, substitute your phone where it says 'tablet' or Acer, but the principle is the same. You can even choose to use the IP your router has already assigned your phone. Feel free to ask if you need any help! Cheers!
    Beauty is in the eyes of the beerholder

  7. #6
    Android Lurker paulbarrett1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks, I'll give that a go. I'll be back should any problems arise.

  8. #7
    Android Lurker paulbarrett1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    21
    Still not having any luck.

    When I go into advanced settings on my phone, I have a list under IP settings.
    These are;
    "Use Static IP", which I have now enabled.
    IP Address
    Gateway
    Netmask
    DNS 1
    DNS 2

    I do not have DHCP.

    The only time I can get my phone to connect to my wifi is if I press the reset button on the router.

    The router is a Belkin 54g, which although is slightly dated, it supports 7 household computers, 2 smartphones, a Wii, a Nintendo DS and a Playstation. (albeit, obviously not all at the same time)

  9. #8
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    You're almost there...we need to populate those settings you listed. You are using DHCP from your router currently, and selecting 'static IP' and populating the settings will override the DHCP server. :-)

    Sent from my A100 using Tapatalk
    Beauty is in the eyes of the beerholder

  10. #9
    Android Lurker paulbarrett1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    21
    OK, went to cmd, and put in /ipconfig, got the info from there, but nothing seems to work. It connects again, and dsconnects. Pretty sure i'm doing something wrong.

  11. #10
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    Quote Originally Posted by paulbarrett1984 View Post
    OK, went to cmd, and put in /ipconfig, got the info from there, but nothing seems to work. It connects again, and dsconnects. Pretty sure i'm doing something wrong.
    Okay...what IP does the router (dhcp) give when you do the reset? Write that one down, and we'll try that one as a static IP. Also what is your router's IP?
    Beauty is in the eyes of the beerholder

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Can't turn wifi off after turning on wifi direct. please help
    By Franklin in forum Samsung Galaxy S2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-23-2011, 02:41 AM
  2. Random issue. BIG ISSUE.
    By jgreenmusic in forum Beginning Developers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2011, 11:11 AM
  3. Samsung/Sony PS3 issue HELP!!! (NO WIFI 4 THIS GUY)
    By The750iguy in forum Samsung Galaxy S2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2011, 11:01 AM
  4. Sync Issue??
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 02:15 PM

Search tags for this page

android phone keeps saying wifi not in range

,

my samsung phone is connecting and dsconnecting from wifi

,
network not in range when connecting to wifi samsung galaxy
,
not in range samsung
,
not in range samsung galaxy 2 wi-fi
,

phone keeps saying wifi not in range disconectting

,

samsung ace not in range

,

samsung galaxy ace keeps disconnecting from wifi

,

samsung keeps saying wifi not in range

,

samsung tablet wifi not in range

,

samsung wifi not in range

,
wifi not in range even though it is on, android
,

wifi not in range galaxy s2

,

wifi not in range in samsng tab

,

wifi not in range samsung ace

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum