How to install Swype on X10 AT&T with no "unknown sources" option

This is a discussion on How to install Swype on X10 AT&T with no "unknown sources" option within the Sony Xperia X10 forums, part of the Sony Android Phones category; How to install Swype keyboard for those with an Xperia X10 who do NOT have the option to choose to acquire apps from "unknown sources" ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How to install Swype on X10 AT&T with no "unknown sources" option

  1. #1
    Junior Member msmezmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    How to install Swype on X10 AT&T with no "unknown sources" option

    How to install Swype keyboard for those with an Xperia X10 who do NOT have the option to choose to acquire apps from "unknown sources" -- it is simply not on any menu of the recent AT&T X10 (which is also referred to as an X10a). When I was trying to do this, I found many instructions that just said “use adb” and examples for other phones like the Backflip. I wrote this up for my own reference and decided to share with those who may need more specifics of how to do this on the Xperia X10(a) without ‘rooting’ your phone.

    To prepare on your PC: (this is for Windows, although there are Linux options out there) and these are the exact steps that worked for me on Win XP.

    Download current .net framework 4 at: Download .NET Framework

    Download X10 drivers from sony ericsson developers site: Sony Ericsson - Developer World - Downloads - Download - Dw-x10drivers
    Create a file on your desktop or in mydocuments or somewhere -- I created a directory called Xperia X10a Files -- put your X10 drivers files from Sony Ericsson here.

    Download AC Sideload Wonder Machine -- this will give you the adb that works (and I'm sure you'll be wanting this later for other things, too) exactly as it says here: AC Sideload Wonder Machine for Windows - Page 2 - Android Forums

    Important -- just put it in the C: directory as he says, it's much easier later to find it.
    From your X10 -- you may want to do this with wi-fi -- go to Swype | Text Input for Screens.... and sign up for the beta -- put in an email address you can access from your phone, and remember the password you use here. This will download Swype Installer to your phone, but you will not be able to access it, because it’s been blocked as a non-AT&T market app.

    On the x10 phone, enable USB debugging at settings/applications/development/usb debugging.

    Plug your phone into the usb port on the same computer where you have installed the above .net4, X10 drivers, and SWM (Sideload Wonder Machine). It may tell you that new device is found and that it needs drivers... navigate to where you put the X10 drivers you downloaded earlier - and it should find the right driver. If you want to verify that it worked, you can go to Control Panel / System / Hardware / Device Manager and it should show your Xperia X10 connected as a device -- if you have a yellow ? something went wrong with getting the driver connected, so try that again.

    You will get a notification on your X10 that says you're connected to a USB and do you want to transfer files, etc. You DO want to mount the drive now. This will allow your phone to show up in Explorer as an additional drive letter -- you can go to that directory and see the files on your phone.
    On the phone, under a directory called Downloads -- you will find the Swype-Installer.apk file. Click and copy that file (do not move it -- your Swype may later expect it to still be on your phone) to the directory you created on the PC where you put your adb files -- since I used the adb that came with Sideload Wonder Machine, I put the Swype-Installer.apk file in that same directory. This puts the Swype install file on your computer

    On the phone, “unmount” the phone as a drive, but leave it connected to the usb and your computer.
    Go to a Dos command screen. On WinXP, click “start” then “run”, then type “cmd” in the box, and click OK. This will bring up the Dos command screen. On that screen, go to the directory where you put the adb files (or the AC_SWM directory if that’s where you obtained the adb) for my example, I’ll use that directory. C:\AC_SWM> if you just put it all on C:\ it would just be a C:\ with the adb commands after that.

    To summarize: First you’ll put the Swype Installer back on the phone, using adb (yes, you got it from there originally, but after this it will let you run it). Then, when the installation “stalls” at the security screen you’ll use adb pull to “pull” back the correct application version that was sent to your phone by Swype. Then, you’ll use adb install to finish the installation back on to your phone. For details, follow below:

    C:\AC_SWM>adb install Swype-Installer.apk

    Leaving your phone connected to the computer via usb, on your phone go to the applications and find Swype Installer, and click on it to run it. Follow the directions on the screen – you’ll need to put in the email address and password that you used earlier, the first time you downloaded Swype to your phone. After you login, go ahead and follow the directions to let it download the right version for your phone. Choose Full Version of Swype or English/Spanish, whichever you want. When it gets to the security screen that says you are BLOCKED from adding this app because it’s not from the market STOP on that screen, and DO NOT hit “OK” or cancel, just leave the phone at that screen.

    Go back to your command prompt on your PC, and enter the following:

    C:\AC_SWM>adb pull /data/data/com.swype.android.installer/files/mypackage.apk

    it will come back with a line that shows how many Kbytes

    Then enter:

    C:\AC_SWM>adb install mypackage.apk

    it will come back with a line that shows how many Kbytes and then will say “success”

    NOW you can press OK on the “security” screen, and follow the instructions to select Swype as your keyboard on your phone.

    After you “safely remove hardware” from your computer, you can go back and use Swype on your phone!

    PS – You may want to bookmark these instructions. When they recently updated the software, I had to uninstall the Swype application from the phone and the Swype Installer from the phone, and do this all over again, but it was worth it!

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Super Moderator Dorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    between 850-1900MHz
    Posts
    885
    Thanked
    71 times
    Twitter
    @Dorian_At_ATT
    Nice guide! Very helpful and explanatory.

    Need Assistance? Contact me at dorian@android.net

  4. #3
    Junior Member whatyoucallme's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    hey i tried this and i got it to download onto my phone but it says in comand promp that "the filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect" any ideas

  5. #4
    Junior Member msmezmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5
    Don't know at what point in the command issues that you're getting that reply. I would make sure that you've put the swype-installer.apk file in the same directory on your computer as your adb file so that it can 'find' it. Also, when you type in the commands, make sure to type them exactly as I've shown in the instructions. For example in the "adb pull" line, there is a space between "pull" and /data/data.....
    Hope that helps. I actually wrote this originally for my own use when I had to reinstall my swype. I've just upgraded my X10 and now had to reinstall swype again and it still worked exactly as I wrote it above.

    Hope it works for you!

  6. #5
    Junior Member thieplyx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by msmezmer View Post
    Don't know at what point in the command issues that you're getting that reply. I would make sure that you've put the swype-installer.apk file in the same directory on your computer as your adb file so that it can 'find' it. Also, when you type in the commands, make sure to type them exactly as I've shown in the instructions. For example in the "adb pull" line, there is a space between "pull" and /data/data.....
    Hope that helps. I actually wrote this originally for my own use when I had to reinstall my swype. I've just upgraded my X10 and now had to reinstall swype again and it still worked exactly as I wrote it above.

    Hope it works for you!
    Hi, I had done to step Download Swype on phone. When i type C:\users\administrator>AC_SWM>adb pull /data/data/com.swype.android.installer/files/mypackage.apk. It says that AC_SWM is not recognize as an internal or external command, operable or batch file.
    What should i do?
    Thank you
    Thiep

  7. #6
    Junior Member thieplyx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by thieplyx View Post
    Hi, I had done to step Download Swype on phone. When i type C:\users\administrator>AC_SWM>adb pull /data/data/com.swype.android.installer/files/mypackage.apk. It says that AC_SWM is not recognize as an internal or external command, operable or batch file.What should i do?Thank youThiep
    Btw, i use Window 7 ultimate Thanks

  8. #7
    Junior Member msmezmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    AC_SWM is not the command, adb begins the command line

    Quote Originally Posted by thieplyx View Post
    Hi, I had done to step Download Swype on phone. When i type C:\users\administrator>AC_SWM>adb pull /data/data/com.swype.android.installer/files/mypackage.apk. It says that AC_SWM is not recognize as an internal or external command, operable or batch file.
    What should i do?
    Thank you
    Thiep
    Hi Thieplx -

    It depends on where you loaded the adb on your computer. I explained that I put in in the directory "AC_SWM" -- you do not 'type' in the AC_SWM.
    Look on your "my computer", "Local C: drive"... if the directory where your adb is installed is under your 'C:\users\administrator then you'd go to that directory and just type: adb pull /data/data/com.swype.android.installer/files/mypackage.apk There is a space after "pull" before the /data....
    If you put it under adminstrator but in a directory called AC_SWM like I did, you'd need to change directories til it reads C:\users\adminstrator\AC_SWM> then you'd type the adb command.

    Since we recently had a Swype update, I had to uninstall and reinstall my Swype still using this method. If you're reinstalling, you may need to rename the original swype-installer.apk to swype-installerold.apk or delete it. And make sure that if your 'new' version is shown as "Swype-Installer-1.apk" you rename it to "Swype-Installer.apk" and also make sure to rename your "mypackage.apk" if you need to.

    Hope this helps!
    Happy Swyping

  9. #8
    Junior Member thieplyx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by msmezmer View Post
    Hi Thieplx -It depends on where you loaded the adb on your computer. I explained that I put in in the directory "AC_SWM" -- you do not 'type' in the AC_SWM.Look on your "my computer", "Local C: drive"... if the directory where your adb is installed is under your 'C:\users\administrator then you'd go to that directory and just type: adb pull /data/data/com.swype.android.installer/files/mypackage.apk There is a space after "pull" before the /data....If you put it under adminstrator but in a directory called AC_SWM like I did, you'd need to change directories til it reads C:\users\adminstrator\AC_SWM> then you'd type the adb command. Since we recently had a Swype update, I had to uninstall and reinstall my Swype still using this method. If you're reinstalling, you may need to rename the original swype-installer.apk to swype-installerold.apk or delete it. And make sure that if your 'new' version is shown as "Swype-Installer-1.apk" you rename it to "Swype-Installer.apk" and also make sure to rename your "mypackage.apk" if you need to.Hope this helps!Happy Swyping
    Thanx msmezmer! Had done it So happy!

  10. #9
    Junior Member Drumgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1

    Other apps?

    Hello, I am not too tech savvy and have read your thread, but there are a couple things i would like to have clarified. Could you explain how to do this with other applications, such as adobe flash for 2.1? Also, what does adb mean?

  11. #10
    Junior Member msmezmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    Can this work for HTC?

    Quote Originally Posted by cbhattarai View Post
    Can we follow the same step in any of the HTC series Phone?
    Hi cbhattarai --

    I'm afraid I can't say if it will. I do not have an HTC, nor access to one, so I can't promise you anything. If it was a similar 'block' to the outside apps that the Sony from ATT has, perhaps this will work for you too. If you want to try it, at you own risk, please do make sure to back up your phone contacts, apps, etc. before you try it. The computer side of my instructions would be the same, I'm fairly certain, but you'd have to figure out what the parameters would be on your phone.

    I'd guess that if you'd like to do this, other HTC folks would too. If you try it, I'd suggest writing down each individual step as to what you have to do on the phone side. If it works, feel free to post here so that others can benefit from what you learn!

    I don't have any further suggestion for you, but would love to hear if it works for you! Swype is great -- it was certainly worth it for me to figure this out.

    Best,
    msmezmer

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

adb command for enabling usb debugging and unknown sources
,

how to anknown sources anable wperia xa

,

how to enable unknown sources on xperia x10

,
how to flash sony xperia sola without turning on unknown sources and debugging option
,

how to install sony ericsson xperia x10a unknown app

,

how to use sony ericsson xperia x10a unknown app

,
if i upgrade my sony xperia x10 will it show me unknown source
,
install blocked for sony x10 at
,

sony android unknown source on

,
sony xperia p enable unknown sources
,

swype xperia x10

,

unknown source box xperia x10

,
unknown source option for app.manager my phone model sonyericsson x10a
,
xperia so-02d install from unknown source
,

xperia x10 cannot startup

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum