This is a discussion on Newb within the Sprint forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; I am trying to move a App called UPM to my sd card on my intercept. This app holds all my usnames and passwords for ...

Thread: Newb

I am trying to move a App called UPM to my sd card on my intercept. This app holds all my usnames and passwords for all my accounts. The problems is..... going to settings to applications to managing will not alloow me to move this app from phone to sd card, but when I open up the app and click on backup, i am told that the backup file already exit on the sd card under, /mnt/sdcard/upm.db. Where do i find this path because when i bring up whats on the sd card UPM or this path is on it. I am new with all this tech that goes alone with these phones so i need some help. Being new at this i hope someone out there understand what i am talking about. HELP!!!!! and thnx

2. is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
    9 times
    I'm sure someone will be able to address your problem soon so I'll bump it. In the meantime, welcome to the forums!

For starters, I recommend using a file browser that doesn't already come on the phone. More often than not, I find them to be much less than helpful as they seem to only show a few file types. I use Astro personally, but there may be better ones out there.

Second, what the program is saying is that it's already saved a copy of your contacts to the SD card as upm.db in the location /mnt/sdcard. In other words, you should now be free to format the phone or transfer the SD card to a new phone, and download the program again, and then use the app's restore feature to get your contacts back.