Use your N1 as a webcam [wireless|wifi]

This is a discussion on Use your N1 as a webcam [wireless|wifi] within the Staging forums, part of the Nexus One FAQ & How-To's category; Install computer client and install instructions: Windows | Linux How to connect Basicly: When you start a video call (assuming your using skype) set the ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Use your N1 as a webcam [wireless|wifi]

  1. #1
    Android Jr Member Fury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    67
    Thanked
    8 times
    Twitter
    Nd1razor

    Use your N1 as a webcam [wireless|wifi]



    Install computer client and install instructions:
    Windows | Linux

    How to connect

    Basicly:
    When you start a video call (assuming your using skype) set the droidcam as your default cam, then make the call, this icon should popup in your taskbar:



    Once that pops up, hit connect on the phone app. (must be connected to the same wifi.)

    I dnt write the full instructions here because it is explained pretty clearly on their site, and rather than rewrite everything, I put up quick links to all the necessary info.

    I have installed this and it does work, framerate is a bit iffy, but thats adjustable, and my net is crap (not to mention proxied) any questions, feel free to ask.

    -Fury

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Member Lost Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    69
    Whoa... Thanks for posting this. I'll take a look. I often travel and use skype to talk to everyone back home. If I can get this working well it would eliminate the need to bring the web cam along!

  4. #3
    Android Jr Member Fury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    67
    Thanked
    8 times
    Twitter
    Nd1razor
    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Dog View Post
    Whoa... Thanks for posting this. I'll take a look. I often travel and use skype to talk to everyone back home. If I can get this working well it would eliminate the need to bring the web cam along!
    glad it helped

  5. #4
    Junior Member elkyur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    15
    WOW! Can I enable 720p video in skype?
    Issue: When I put resolution to 1280x720 it says invalid resolution. Whats wrong?

  6. #5
    Android Jr Member Fury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    67
    Thanked
    8 times
    Twitter
    Nd1razor
    Quote Originally Posted by elkyur View Post
    WOW! Can I enable 720p video in skype?
    Issue: When I put resolution to 1280x720 it says invalid resolution. Whats wrong?
    Im not sure, ill try it when i get home.

  7. #6
    Member Benvolio36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    52
    Does DroidCam use the microphone on the phone? I've been using IP Webcam and it works well with Skype on a Wifi network. But I have to use a separate mic.

    IP Webcam - Android app on AppBrain

  8. #7
    Android Jr Member Fury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    67
    Thanked
    8 times
    Twitter
    Nd1razor
    Quote Originally Posted by Benvolio36 View Post
    Does DroidCam use the microphone on the phone? I've been using IP Webcam and it works well with Skype on a Wifi network. But I have to use a separate mic.

    IP Webcam - Android app on AppBrain
    I believe it does, as I was using it loud sounds came through my speakers, liek slamming doors etc.

    So it does work, but unconfigurable as of yet, and not very usefull sadly

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

droidcam
,
use google nexus one as a webcam
,

use nexus one as webcam

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum