Sudden Increase In 3G Speed

This is a discussion on Sudden Increase In 3G Speed within the T-Mobile forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; I have a Nexus One on T-Mobile. I'm in Flushing, NY. Until last night, the fastest download speed (using speedtest.net) I was ever able to ...

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Sudden Increase In 3G Speed

  1. #1
    Junior Member RickFriedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17

    Sudden Increase In 3G Speed

    I have a Nexus One on T-Mobile. I'm in Flushing, NY. Until last night, the fastest download speed (using speedtest.net) I was ever able to get was 834kbps. The fastest upload speed was 912kbps.

    Last night, I ran a speed test and found my download speed was 3234kbps and upload was 1354kbps. I have run quite a few tests since and they all are relatively the same, even a bit faster. The most recent being download 4137kbps and upload 1394kbps.

    Has anyone else in the New York City area noticed a sudden increase in their 3G speed??

    Rick

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member kevindaledavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by RickFriedman View Post
    The most recent being download 4137kbps and upload 1394kbps.
    Looks like T-Mobile has the new backbone enabled in your area. It isn't updated in the Portland OR area yet. Although I am getting ~550 kbps dl.
    :nexusx:

    AT&T ne:nexusx:us S on AT&T
    AT&T ne:nexusx:us one on Taiwan Mobile [Missing in Taipei]
    Archos 70 with UrukDroid

  4. #3
    Member ThatGuy88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    94
    ^^^^
    Can you explain what you're talking about when you say "backbone"? Also does anyone know when T-Mobile is gonna get better 3g coverage? Ever since I've had my Nexus, all I've been getting is a GPRS signal.

  5. #4
    Senior Member kevindaledavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    318
    Without getting too technical, since I don't know all of the details...

    T-Mobile has been upgrading the equipment connected to their towers. However they have not enabled the connections between towers and between towns. This is the upgrade they are starting to turn on now in the backbone of the network.

    Sort of like, water hoses. If you have really big hoses in your backyard connected to skinny pipes in your house, the water hoses will still put out the same amount of water. However, if you put bigger hoses in your house without getting big water mains, your water hoses will still put out the sample amount of water. The whole system has to be upgraded with big pipes. Once that is done, you can speed up the pumps at the lake where the water actually comes from.

    So T-Mobile has been upgrading everything, but the pumps are still running slow. In some cities, they are starting to speed up the pumps.

    Questions linger after T-Mobile’s 3G upgrade to HSPA 7.2 – Android and Me

    T-Mobile completes 3G network upgrade to HSPA 7.2 Mbps Boy Genius Report

    AT&T ne:nexusx:us S on AT&T
    AT&T ne:nexusx:us one on Taiwan Mobile [Missing in Taipei]
    Archos 70 with UrukDroid

  6. #5
    Senior Member kevindaledavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy88 View Post
    Also does anyone know when T-Mobile is gonna get better 3g coverage?
    Coverage has more to do with the number of towers vs. the amount of area you are trying to cover.

    You can look at the coverage maps of T-Mobile and see they are gappy. :nexusx:

    AT&T ne:nexusx:us S on AT&T
    AT&T ne:nexusx:us one on Taiwan Mobile [Missing in Taipei]
    Archos 70 with UrukDroid

  7. #6
    Senior Member Bob Loblaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    129
    When I saw the title of this thread I was hoping it was West Coast! Congrats though. I'll just have to be patient.

  8. #7
    Senior Member kevindaledavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    318
    Portland Oregon - Just got the first reading over 1000 kbps! Woot! Go T-Mobile!


    1615 dl, but still slow on the ul 385
    also
    1659 dl, 379 ul
    1485 dl, 421 ul

    :nexusx:

    AT&T ne:nexusx:us S on AT&T
    AT&T ne:nexusx:us one on Taiwan Mobile [Missing in Taipei]
    Archos 70 with UrukDroid

  9. #8
    Member Diego318's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36
    I cant get over 800 kbps

    I'm in SoCal

  10. #9
    Member zukbang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by Diego318 View Post
    I cant get over 800 kbps

    I'm in SoCal
    I'll be have to have 800 kbps...I only get 500-600 kbps in downtown LA.

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Sync Issue??
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 02:15 PM
  2. Battery Life + Info Re: Desktop Dock
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2010, 08:57 AM

Search tags for this page

boost nexus one 3g

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum