Yes or No: ALL carriers REQUIRE Data Plan for N1

This is a discussion on Yes or No: ALL carriers REQUIRE Data Plan for N1 within the T-Mobile forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; Nexus One arrived today, started it up, wi fi to my wireless hotspot in my home and synched with my google account password and username. ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Yes or No: ALL carriers REQUIRE Data Plan for N1

  1. #1
    Junior Member norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Yes or No: ALL carriers REQUIRE Data Plan for N1

    Nexus One arrived today, started it up, wi fi to my wireless hotspot in my
    home and synched with my google account password and username.

    Took sims card out of old T-mobile phone and put it in Nexus One.

    CANNOT make a phone call, box pops up saying phone is not registered.

    Called T-Mobile, they INSIST I have to buy the $25 monthly "data plan"
    in order to operate a N1 on their network.
    I called HTC, their techs say NO, they did not build this data carrier
    necessity into the N1.

    Called T-Mobile back, tell them I paid cash, $529, no two contract and
    I do NOT want any data plan, I want to just make phone calls.
    They say TOO BAD, you cannot use it on T-mobile unless you give us the
    $25/month for the data plan, whether you ever use it or not.

    So, this changes what I have, mistakenly, been lead to believe.
    Is there ANY carrier that allows the N1 WITHOUT some kind of a package
    that includes a data plan?

    PLEASE, do not lecture me about why you think hat I "need" a data plan.
    That is my decision and no one else's.

    I just want to confirm that this phone cannot be used as a regular telephone
    without paying ANY carrier extra for a data plan.

    True, or false. And I appreciate very much whatever you can tell me.
    Thanks!
    norton

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member Fuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    617
    call another representative or find a tmobile kiosk in a mall or something. you do not need a data plan. I wouldn't even tell them what phone you have...I'd just say its a gsm unlocked phone.
    Rooted Nexus One

  4. #3
    Senior Member thomaslkuo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    344
    Quote Originally Posted by norton View Post
    Nexus One arrived today, started it up, wi fi to my wireless hotspot in my
    home and synched with my google account password and username.

    Took sims card out of old T-mobile phone and put it in Nexus One.

    CANNOT make a phone call, box pops up saying phone is not registered.

    Called T-Mobile, they INSIST I have to buy the $25 monthly "data plan"
    in order to operate a N1 on their network.
    I called HTC, their techs say NO, they did not build this data carrier
    necessity into the N1.

    Called T-Mobile back, tell them I paid cash, $529, no two contract and
    I do NOT want any data plan, I want to just make phone calls.
    They say TOO BAD, you cannot use it on T-mobile unless you give us the
    $25/month for the data plan, whether you ever use it or not.

    So, this changes what I have, mistakenly, been lead to believe.
    Is there ANY carrier that allows the N1 WITHOUT some kind of a package
    that includes a data plan?

    PLEASE, do not lecture me about why you think hat I "need" a data plan.
    That is my decision and no one else's.

    I just want to confirm that this phone cannot be used as a regular telephone
    without paying ANY carrier extra for a data plan.

    True, or false. And I appreciate very much whatever you can tell me.
    Thanks!
    norton
    Don't tell them you have a data phone, just tell them you have some generic flip phone, and you need a sim card. I have 4 phone lines for my business all of them with T-mobile. I popped out the main line I use the N1 on, and popped in another sim card without data plan, and made calls no problem. It pops out a cannot sync because I don't have data on that specific sim card, but I figure I just need to turn off sync to get rid of that problem. So answer to your question is, it will function without data on your line, and there is no way they can force you if you are not on contract!

  5. #4
    Junior Member mlanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1
    "I just want to confirm that this phone cannot be used as a regular telephone
    without paying ANY carrier extra for a data plan."

    Norton,

    You don't need to buy the data plan to use the N1.
    I do have the N1 with my old plan with T-mobile and the phone works fine with my wireless at home. When i go out i only get phone calls like my old phone, razr v3. I just took my S Card without data plan from my V3 and put it in my N1.
    Next month i will change my acc. for the new plan without contract , and i will get the data plan. My N1 works very well with my wireless at home and i have the cheapest plan on T Mobile.

  6. #5
    Junior Member Hal_nexusone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    21
    I'm using the N1 Prepaid, no data plan, no contract. No problems. You can order the SIM Card online, $6.99, includes 10 mins airtime. Then go to Wal-Mart for a $100 airtime card (about $90 at checkout) and you'll get 15% bonus immediately and the time is good for a year. Unsupported Browser

  7. #6
    Senior Member kevindaledavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    318
    I was looking for a different answer on T-Mobile forum yesterday.

    Look at the last question from this post ....
    UPDATED! Nexus One FAQ 01/13/2010 - T-Mobile Community

    Can I remove Text + Web and use the device as a phone only?

    No, existing rules apply. Customers must subscribe to a Data Feature
    If you were eligible and received a handset discount but removed the Data Feature, Google may charge your Google Checkout Account (method of payment) for the handset discount that was applied at purchase.
    Note: This only applies to customers that bought the phone under contract with the discount. This does not apply to customers that purchase the nexus one at full price.


    If you paid full price and you never use the data services, you don't need a data plan.

    However, if you have a data plan, you need to add the Android Unlimited Data Plan.

    AT&T ne:nexusx:us S on AT&T
    AT&T ne:nexusx:us one on Taiwan Mobile [Missing in Taipei]
    Archos 70 with UrukDroid

  8. #7
    Junior Member cl8525's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4
    go online and change the phone to a razr or something. That is what I did, mine is unlocked as well. just can't get my data to work on the Even More Plus 1500 Talk + Text + Web for Families with FlexPay

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Force Landscape Mode
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2010, 10:19 PM
  2. Epic 4G IRC Channel
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 12:19 PM

Search tags for this page

carriers that do not require a data plan

,

do i need a contract for nexus 7

,

does the nexus 7 require a data plan

,

how to hook a asus nexus 7 to a existing data plan

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum