Any T-mobile SF Bay area users here?

This is a discussion on Any T-mobile SF Bay area users here? within the T-Mobile forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; Just wanted to add that I was at the Giants game last night and the 3g signal was very low, thus making the N1 decide ...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Any T-mobile SF Bay area users here?

  1. #11
    Member okcoolthnx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35
    Just wanted to add that I was at the Giants game last night and the 3g signal was very low, thus making the N1 decide to go for Edge. However, this isn't a problem because there's free WiFi in the park.

  2. #12
    Junior Member hanser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2
    I am with ATT and want to get the N1. T-Mobile says the coverage in my area is good. They showed me on their computer. Hope that is right. I have a question about the N1 and being an unlocked phone. Admittedly, this is all a bit over my head. If the phone is unlocked, how come you have to get a different phone for ATT? Why doesn't the same phone work on either network if it is unlocked? I guess I thought that meant that a phone was universal and could be used with any firm, if there the same kind of service, that is (CDMA ...). Also, since this is a phone with a SIM card, can it be used in Europe and other parts of the world if you travel?

  3. #13
    Member okcoolthnx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35
    The only reason you need a different N1 for ATT is to have functional 3g on their network. ATT uses a different frequency than T-mobile, or the most of the world. Verizon's N1 most likely will NOT be a world phone since their network uses CDMA, a dying format as far as everyone else is concerned.

    So to sum it up, T-mo and ATT N1's will still work around the world, but to have functional 3g for your network, you must have the appropriate N1.

  4. #14
    Junior Member rfdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    okcoolthnx - I live in the Potrero Hill area of SF (not far from the ball-park) and I can confirm T-Mobile 3G is basically non-existent on this eastern edge of SF. I've done the setting tweak to (supposedly) force it to use 3G, but I'm only getting ONE bar of Edge. Doing a mobile speed test confirms the lousy connection speeds here. I just got the N1 and I'm really hoping this is not the case for the rest of the city? Hard to believe SF of all places has such wireless connectivity issues (across all carriers and networks, it seems).

  5. #15
    Member okcoolthnx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35
    rfdigital - In general, the 3G coverage in SF is good with T-mobile. They're making a decent effort in expanding coverage in the city, but there's a lot of liberal freaks that are causing an uproar over the installation of new cell phone towers in their neighborhood. They're worried about cancer causing frequencies blablabla; the usual BS when it comes to SF politics.

    That said, San Francisco has a very unique topography, so it's not just T-mobile that has 3G trouble, it's pretty much any carrier in the city. Portrero Hill is a district I would see as very difficult to cover because of the rolling hills and whatnot. Unlike Nob Hill, there aren't any tall buildings to put a cell phone tower on (5 story maximum height on commercial/apartments, 40 feet maximum on residential housing).

    Basically, we'll just have to wait. I have faith in T-Mobile and there are documented efforts of them trying to add coverage in the city.

  6. #16
    Junior Member mikala365's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1
    I live and work in the East Bay and calls are fine (no drops) but internet service is iffy at best. Work has always been an issue - downtown Oakland - internal office in a tall building - so I just accept it and walk towards a window to make a call or use internet services. Home (North Richmond/Pinole) is becoming a problem. Must ALWAYS "retry" for an internet connection. I did not have this problem with the G1 or the T-Mobile Wing.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting G2 to the XBOX to play video/music
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 12:13 AM
  2. YouTube?
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2010, 03:50 PM

Search tags for this page

best mobile service and coverage in san francisco east bay area
,
east bay area tmobile coverage
,
is t mobile service good in san francisco forum
,
is tmobile good
,

t mobile bay area coverage

,
t mobile bay area review
,
t mobile coverage bay area
,
t mobile coverage review san francisco bay area
,
t mobile network reviews in bay area
,
t mobile reception bay area
,

t-mobile bay area reviews

,

t-mobile reviews bay area

,
t-mobile service bay area review
,

tmobile coverage sf bay area

,

www.android.net 99444-any-t-mobile-sf-bay-area-users-here

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum